You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Falling bombs and the rise of a nation : Catching submarines

in OCD5 years ago

Howdy sir galenkp! What an amazing feat of engineering design and manufacture to get that net in place and operate it in such a way, incredible. Do you know how large the cables that formed the net were? How big in circumference?

Sort:  

Hmm, that's a good question...I believe the official measurement was actually bloody huge!

I'll have to look it up to be honest. I would say probably forearm-sized in diameter though I guess.

That would be my wild-ass guess too. lol. Surely they have a section of it in a museum or somewhere?

None of the cable or net survives, only the winch like I mentioned in the post. I have seen the anchor point on one side of the harbour though, and even then not much remains.

That thing was so massive that I figured someone had a piece of it somewhere. Too bad but stuff happens.

I think it got recycled...Post war stuff was at a premium i guess so they needed to make use of what was available.

Yeah that makes perfect sense sir galenkp.

It happened a lot all around the world actually. The wherewithal left over from war got recycled. I guess it still happens. I'm on the scout for a surplus cruise missile, guidance system and nuke warhead myself actually...😂🙈

lol..man, that's some serious shopping there! Some serious hardware. lol.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59200.90
ETH 2601.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41