Where on Wednesday thirty three: My office...But not my office

in OCD4 years ago

Yes, that's right I'm at my office...However yesterday was a different matter! My office looked like this! Alright I'll be honest, it didn't look like this all day, but for a few hours it did and I'll take it when I can!

I was in a beachside suburb of Adelaide called Glenelg...That's a palindrome in case you hadn't noticed as the name reads the same forwards and backwards. [A useless fact for you.] I'll pause whilst you go and read it back to check...Waiting...Waiting...Lol. You done?

Glenelg is a historical spot, the oldest European Settlement on the South Australian mainland in fact. The British set out for South Australia in 1836 and arrived in Glenelg to proclaim it the Province of South Australia which happened on the 28th December 1836 at the site of the Old Gum Tree in Glenelg North. I have posted about it before. Since then Glenelg, and the city of Adelaide itself, has expanded of course.

It has traditionally been a popular beachside spot for people in Adelaide and that rings true today with crowds flocking there on weekends to take in the cosmopolitan vibe, the beach and all the awesome spots to eat! There is a massive new years eve celebration here each year and year-round there's festivals and events...There's always something happening at Glenelg.

I was here for work yesterday though, to sign contracts with a new client. It's cool really because I was here the day earlier (Monday) to pitch to the client who lives right on the Esplanade overlooking the water, and overnight they accepted our package and so there I was again on Tuesday...Glenelg two days running! I really can't complain about my job...I'm a lucky fella...And with weather like this? #blessed #yayforme #loveit Lol.

Yesterday I had a slightly slower day as far as workload goes so decided to head down early and sit in a cafe and work on my laptop...Of course, I took a stroll around to see what's up as well. It was 30 degrees yesterday so a few people were out and about on the beach and taking advantage of the weather. I like week-days here because they are less busy as you can see. On the weekend it is teeming with people! Certainly a place to come if one is looking for hot, and scantily-dressed bodies.

I found a nice spot yesterday, grabbed a sandwich and coffee and sat around working...Actually, I didn't work at all, I people-watched, but don't tell my boss ok?

Where I was sitting overlooked a fountain between a stand of palm trees, one of those ones that spurts out of holes in the ground at various points. You know the one's kids play in? There were a few families there frolicking in the water and the air was full of laughter and happiness. It was really quite nice to be honest and was great to see families taking advantage of the free entertainment too.

I'm fortunate that my working day allows me a lot of autonomy; No one looks over my shoulder and wherever I am I can work, provided that I have my mobile phone and laptop computer. I sometimes grumble on here about my work but to be completely honest I love it, am privileged to have a lot of freedom and the ability to work in places like this at times.

So...Where on Wednesday? Well, today in my office at my desk...Wishing I was back at Glenelg like yesterday.

Have a great hump-day y'all...The weekend isn't far away!


Tomorrow isn't promised - Design and create your ideal life, don't live it by default
An original post written by a human
Discord: galenkp#9209 🇦🇺

Sort:  

It's nice to see you enjoying yourself at any time, whether it's in the workplace or at work. That philosophy of life of yours to find the beautiful and enjoy so is not in the moments of fun, I love it. Beautiful place and very beautiful photographs. I live in a coastal area where the heat is always pressing and 30 degrees is a coolness compared to some temperatures here. Thanks for sharing your day to day and always leave a positive message, dear @galenkp. A hug and best wishes in the week to you.

Hi Mary, thanks for your comment and kind words. Yes, 30 isn't hot at all really, for us here it gets up to 47 in summer...30 is nice weather and it was a nice place to sit and watch the world go by whilst I pretended to work.

Have a nice day.

!ENGAGE 20

Wao, 47 degrees, ohhh, I died with that information. PS: I never complain about the heat in my area again hahaha. Another hug, happy night.

Yep, South Australia gets hot. 😁



@marybellrg you have received 20 ENGAGE from @galenkp!
View and trade the tokens on Steem Engine.


This tip bot is powered by witness untersatz!

Makes you wonder if the original Glenelg was created as a name because it was a palindrome (although it probably wasn't called that then) or just because. Coming from Scotland, who knows.

It was named after Lord Glenelg, a British member of Cabinet and Secretary of State for War and the Colonies. So, yes it derives from Scotland (Glenelg, Highland, Scotland.)

!ENGAGE 20



@lordvdr you have received 20 ENGAGE from @galenkp!
View and trade the tokens on Steem Engine.


This tip bot is powered by witness untersatz!

Many, many a NYE spent in Glenelg. Great times.

It's actually been a while since I've been to Glenelg for a NYE, but then we don't tend to go out for NYE much at all to be honest. I think my earliest memory of Glenelg was a a kid of maybe 4-5 years old with may parents. Faith and I spent a bit of time there when were were first together too...Remember that car park at the end of ANZAC Highway? We'd cruise my VG Valiant Cope down there, have fish and chips and go to that little fair they had next to it. Those were the days. Later I'd ride my motor bikes there, park in front of the Post office with the rest and hang out...Good times indeed. We went for a long time not going there, but they've redeveloped it well now and we head over there sometimes.

!ENGAGE 20

Yeah, looks great out there at the moment; although part of me will always miss Magic Mountain.
Amanda took Henry down for a Japanese car show the other day.
image.png



@mattclarke you have received 20 ENGAGE from @galenkp!
View and trade the tokens on Steem Engine.


This tip bot is powered by witness untersatz!

Those hashtags, have you been on Instagram again ;D

Looks like a nice area :) So much paving! I'm trapped somewhere between "awesome skating" and "ergh heat trap" XD It looks kind of like Fremantle, I should head back down there sometime, though it's a 2hr train trip vs 40min drive and don't ask about parking fees x_x) Weekday is exactly when I would be going because it's much nicer when it's not crowded XD

I don't know anyone that doesn't occasionally grumble about their work/family/life sometimes, it's not all beds of roses XD (or would that be rose petals because bed of roses sounds really uncomfortable with all those thorns especially if they're the wild rises where the entire stem is just thorns with no gaps x_x) it's only ever an issue when they're serial grumblers and you're definitely not one of those XP

!ENGAGE 10



@ryivhnn you have received 10 ENGAGE from @macchiata!
View and trade the tokens on Steem Engine.


This tip bot is powered by witness untersatz!

Haha, yeah Ry, the last time I was on Instagram was...erm, that's right, never! Lol. I was in a #sillymood so #whynot have some #fun #Lol.

I've never been to WA but have #heard it's much like Adelaide. Freo is supposed to be good as well or so I have heard. Yes, there's a lot of #paving going on there in the square but in #real life it doesn't feel so bad. Normally it's wall to wall people.

I don't mind my #work. I have a cool job to be honest. But I'd rather be #anywhere else than at work. My life is about life, and my work is only the smallest part of that, the funds to support it...if I didn't have to go I' wouldn't. Still, I enjoy it and am #lucky to have enough credibility built up to be left the hall #alone by the Directors.

One #last hashtag for #you...

#hashtag

Bahahahahahhahahahaaa XD I'm surprised you didn't hashtag freo and adelaide, location is important apparently XD

Maybe another thing that would be good for you (or not x_x) are tumblr sentence hashtags:

Screenshot_20200226_093919.png

Above is an example from one of my sister's latest posts (I am trying to get her on here but it's hard work, mostly because I'm a really soft onboarder which stems from how deep and absolute well past the point of irrationality my loathing of ads and pushiness and calls to action and all that kind of vaguely related stuff is XD)

Congrats on them accepting your package! No one wants their package rejected. Nice looking spot to have lunch!

Your post had me right till the end....”an original post written by a human” that’s exactly what a bot would say!

Package rejection can be problematic.

P.s. I am a bot. Shh, don't tell anyone.

Congratulations @galenkp! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 30500 replies. Your next target is to reach 31000 replies.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Looks awesome .... I sorta agree with @ryihvnnn about the heat trap ... but usually at the coast there is a breeze so probably not a major problem.

13 hours ago in OCD by galenkp (74) ....man I battle with that acronym... for me it only translates as Obsessive Compulsive Disorder

Thankfully nothing I suffer from !!


Australia is hot, and South Australia where I live is one of the driest and hottest parts of the country. It is what it is...I'm not a fan of the heat despite being born here and used to it, but hiding inside in the AC isn't my style...Not all the time anyway. Lol. It's not actually too bad up in the Adelaide Hills with the breezes and all. It was a nice afternoon on Tuesday for sure.

Tuesday it touched 41 degrees here and not a breath of wind... not my type of weather. Winter...fireplaces, comfort food and cuddles and good red wine far more my style.

Nothing like cool weather, cuddling and comfort food...I'm with you on that count for sure!

Howdy sir galenkp! What a gorgeous and interesting, historic place! Interesting name too!

Great spot to come...Especially during one's working day. Lol.

Oh yes, what a dream location for being at work! When so many are stuck in a cu

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67651.53
ETH 3845.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65