We called it Bob

in OCD4 years ago

It's just a car, nothing special and certainly not a prestige vehicle; No, just a normal everyday sort of car but...

...This car took us all over the UK, performed flawlessly and never skipped a beat...Ok, there was the issue of having to fill the AdBlue tank up which was something I'd never had to do before, but other than that it was completely effortless.

It might have been a boring, uninspiring, family car but it helped us create amazing memories over the several weeks we were in the UK and when we took it back to the hire car company we thanked it for its service and said our farewells with some regret. We had become friends.

It was a good car...We called it Bob.

Sort:  

Hello Bob! These new Vauxhalls are very pretty looking cars, even though they're mass-produced. Can't say I've found a new Vauxhall that's ugly. Though I will say, it saddens me to look at this, because it's a reminder that Holden is no longer with us. Rest in peace... 😥

It was a bloody good car mate. If I was into sedans I'd buy one in a shot. Really nice cars.

Holden used this vehicle to replace the locally produced Commodore, and also called it by the same name.

Did you know I worked at the Holden-GM plant for 14 years? I was a manager with 500 people under my responsibilitiy. I left back in 2002 though.

Yeah, I read one of your stories a while back. Must've been really cool, not to mention the patriotism, of working with Holden. They were still in their stride back then, up to '02. It's a shame though, I've always been intrigued by their cars. Can't recall seeing them ever (or any Vauxhall cars ) here in Malaysia. I've seen a few Opels, though. Ah, what a shame... 😥

I've had my share of Holden's vehicles as I used to get a new one every 3 months as a company vehicle. Decent cars, as well made as most around the world with the exception of the prestige brands I suppose. Yes, in 2002 we had 5500 employees and were pumping out about 600 cars a day.

Bob the car nice 💯🐒

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 64059.91
ETH 2761.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72