Showcase-Sunday: Swagging

in OCD4 years ago

As you guys may know I spend a lot of time in the outdoors. It's actually one of my hobbies, being outdoors; It's sort a hobby that supports other hobbies, I guess, considering I'm out there hiking, kayaking, hunting, off-roading etcetera. One supports the other really.

Heading off into the outback, wilderness or remote areas, and camping there, requires equipment; Sometimes a lot of equipment, and at others not so much. It's often time, activity, location and weather specific.

I wrote last week about my camper trailer which my wife and I tow around when we camp; It's suitable for short or long trips and is very capable. However sometimes I go alone, or with a few mates and only for a short period and at those times I like to pack lighter. At those times I generally take my swag. camper trailer post here

A swag is essentially a bedroll, a portable tent for one I guess.

The name is Australian however as far as I know variants of the swag can be found elsewhere so it's not exclusively an Australian invention I guess. Back in the day various people would carry swags, people like shearers or miners, drovers (cattle or sheep herders) and those who needed to maintain a high degree of mobility. These days they are a camping accessory used by many Australians who need to be more mobile. They come in very light-weight varieties for walkers, trekkers and hikers to more robust versions like my own. I'm vehicle-mounted so have the ability to carry the heavier unit, and generally prefer to be a little more comfortable due to some occasional back pain, hence I have the best unit I could find and afford. You can see mine here, rolled and zipped up in its storage/travel bag. (Above)

When not camping with my camper trailer which is pretty decked out with just about every convenience a person could require, I use my swag.

A swag is basically a bedroll constructed from canvas that one slips into to sleep within. They come in various sizes and shapes and there's even a double version suitable for two people. I've seen some very utilitarian versions and some rather elaborate ones. Mine sits somewhere in the upper range I think; It is loaded with features and was the best I could find, that suited my needs, at the time of purchase. Here you can see it un-bagged and ready to roll out and set up. (Above)

I purchased mine from an Australian company and it is 100% Australian in construction and materials which suits me just fine. I'm not a big supporter of Chinese-made shit. This was one of my purchasing criteria, being Aussie-made.

The company is called Crashpad and I spoke to them on the phone asking questions about design, manufacture and of course quality of the products used in its construction. Each answer brought me closer to a purchase as I liked what I heard. The guy I spoke with, one of the owners, was super-helpful and after chatting for a half hour I was happy to place my online order with home-delivery to South Australia from the State of Queensland. Here you see it rolled out. (Above)

My swag deploys in about 3-4 minutes from inside the carry bag to a ready-to-sleep-in condition. It consists of the canvas swag, inner mattress and 3-pole kit. That's it.

To set up it's a simple task of unzipping it, removing it from the travel bag and unrolling it which you see above.

After laying out the swag in the desired location (not under a gum tree as they drop branches) the end-poles are inserted and the retaining clips fastened - They simple click on. Once that's done the central spreader-pole is inserted between the two ends and clipped in at each end and twice along its length to hold the roof of the swag up creating room inside. Unzip the canvas and inner fly net and you're in and sleeping. It's that's simple. Here above you can see it with the end-poles inserted and below with the central pole in place.

The swag stays up by itself and does not require pegging down although should I want more air flow the rain shrouds covering the mesh windows at each end can be pegged out by way of the orange cord you see to the right of my swag in this picture.

Both side canvas flaps roll up to allow airflow also. One would leave the mesh sides zipped to keep bugs out in warmer weather and of course if raining the canvas flaps would be zipped down to prevent water-ingress.

The mattress stays inside the swag at all times even when it's packed up and I also leave my sleeping bag in there as well so it's all together and ready for a quick getaway; Just throw it in the truck and I'm on the way for my trip.

The swag is completely waterproof due to the heavy-guage treated canvas and the rain flaps covering each end, the top along the length and the zips; I have slept in it in torrential rain with no water ingress staying completely dry.

I've also used in temperatures of minus 2°C (28F) and up to 35°C (95F) and everything in between and remained completely comfortable. Obviously in the hot weather both weather-flaps would be rolled up leaving just the mesh giving ample airflow whilst keeping the bitey things out. (Mozzies, midges, spiders, scorpions, snakes and so on...) Above you can see the mattress inside.

Packing up is just as simple as the set up. Reverse the process exactly and it's done! The swag has straps to assist the user to bundle it into a tight roll and then it's inserted into the bag, zipped up, and ready for transport.

For a person camping for a night or two and then moving this is an excellent option as it deploys so rapidly however one could stay in a swag for a lengthy period as well I guess. It's a very comfortable sleeping arrangement with the mattress in there although, as I said, some swags are not as comfortable as mine. (They're for the younger blokes. 😂)

The overall weight is 13kg so it's not the lightest thing around and it's not really something you'd strap onto a motorbike or hike around with however they make loads of products there's probably one for every use.

Just a word on the poles it uses. They are aluminium and shock-corded so are very simple to deploy and use and are very strong. They are easily replaced if lost or damaged somehow and are very light as well. They really thought about every aspect of this product before taking it to market.

For me the Crashpad is the perfect swag being large enough inside to avoid claustrophobia and excessive condensation build-up, which the venting helps with, and completely waterproof for when the weather turns bad. During the day I usually open the canvas sides up and close up the mesh to keep bugs and snakes out. That way it airs out and doesn't heat up. At night I get in, zip it all up and sleep like a baby.

Camping in a swag isn't for everyone. Many people feel too closed-in and struggle with the confined space but with a little airflow that feeling doesn't last.

I used to feel that way with my last swag because the inner roof was too close to my face. I don't have that issue in the Crashpad. Sure, I can't sit up in it but it's not designed to be a tent; That's why it's called a swag, not a tent. Mine is the outback model at $398AUD and it cost me $418AUD delivered to my door. It's not a cheap bit of kit certainly, but is the best I could find and will be with me for years. I have a buy one cry once ethos with most of what I get so it works.

If you're looking to get set up for some camping take a look at the swag option. It's far simpler to set up than a tent and a lot cheaper than a camper trailer. Of course for those travelling with a family it may not work, however you could buy the double swag which is very roomy indeed I suppose. Go and check out the swag options, and other stuff, on the Crashpad website. They are also available in the United States now so you guys and gals don't need to miss out.

I'm sorry my photos weren't taken in some awesome camping spot in the Aussie outback. My back yard was all I had available today; You get the idea though.

Thanks for reading.


Tomorrow isn't promised - Design and create your ideal life, don't live it by default
An original post written by a human
Discord: galenkp#9209 🇦🇺

The original post was written and posted by me in early 2018. This post has been reworked and reposted for the @nonameslefttouse #showcase-sunday concept.

Sort:  

13 KG is pretty reasonable considering a mattress is built in. Tents are generally baking hot or f-ing freezing and so I'm wondering how this one seems to be good for all temps?

In summer both sides of the canvas rolls up leaving just the mesh sides which gives airflow meaning inside is at ambient temperature not heated through trapping the air. In winter the canvas (and small space nature of the swag) means one's body temperature provides a heating effect keeping the camper a little warmer. It also comes down to the quality of sleeping bag of course. I wouldn't want to be in a swag at much lower then zero and in the heat camping can suck, but in my experience with a decent swag itvisba little more tolerable than a flimsy nylon tent.

Fair enough. The mattress is decent enough?

I have been caught out with crappy sleeping bags before, not a fun night when you are wearing everything you have and still cold af :)

The mattress has to be able to roll on pack-down so it's not super thick although when in it I don't feel the ground so I'd have to say it's legit. I have a 0-degree sleeping bag so generally don't have issues with cold, besides it never really gets super-cold here I guess. Nothing worse than being cold when camping...Except maybe being cold and wet. (Been there, done that)

I would camp in that back yard anytime. Is Tent (room) service available.? And is there a pool & hot tub...?

O just carried my bag of Swag into the TS for a shower..... True Story.

Pool? Well, as it turns out this section of my yard used to be an in-ground pool which we removed. My wife made the garden once we'd broken it up and filler it in (professionally of course).

Your swag has wheels and a motor though right?

My bag ~ IS ~ SWAG....

It was a Free Promo item from NRA.

It contains some SWAG also......

Just a diff meaning on the far side of the M̶o̶o̶n̶ Earth......

https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/swag

Ah ok, we have a similar meaning. Like...

"I have a swag of stuff stowed away over there" for instance.

Or

"There's a while sawg of items on the list for discussion."

The bedroll (swag) also of course.

Looks even better than the classic tent :) Enjoy your time outdoors!

Thank you.

Looks like a nice swag I hope it lasts decades a quality swag should.

Posted using Partiko Android

It seems pretty nice. Had it for about 4 years now and used it a lot. Have been really happy with it and would recommend it to anyone looking for a swag. Only downside is the weight but for me being in a vehicle it doesn't matter. It's not designed for hikers or bikers.

Ive nought heard of a swag until now.
Ive been delightfully enlightened.
We love the outdoors, and this seems a great alternative , to a tent. Love the built in mattress idea.

It's a pretty good bit of kit and provides a good night's sleep...As long as no critters get there with you. 🙂

Noooo.... I dont like critters.lol
But seriously, no critters.

We have some critters that'll kill you dead...I'm not a fan of them.

nice garden... and not a shabby swag ... methinks perhaps a bit small for my claustrophobic self :(

Thanks mate...Yeah, swags can be a little close-quartered especially if one feels a little uncomfortable in tight spaces.

Those are awesome sir galenkp. I think they should be kept handy beside the bugout bags.

Pretty cool huh?

Yes sir, super cool!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63510.75
ETH 3065.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82