Faith and G-dog's relaxing Sunday

in OCD4 years ago

Today my wife Faith and I decided a walk at the beach would do us some good. It was a beautiful day after all, 21°C and sunny, and simply begging to be enjoyed.

We headed to the beach, not too far from where we live, and simply started walking...And walking...And walking...Three hours of it actually. It was pretty perfect I have to say. There were people everywhere but they didn't trouble us and I guess they were simply out and about doing exactly what we were doing...I can't blame them really as the weather was glorious.

I took my camera today, usually I forget it; I was quite proud of myself for remembering it but...No sooner had we arrived at the seaside I realised I'd put the wrong lens on like a dumb ass. So all of these shots were taken with the 25mm fixed-lens that, whilst is good for portraits isn't the one I wanted today...Oh well, I never suggested for a second that I'm not a dum-ass; This proves I am, beyond doubt.

We headed off with the sun at our backs chatting away, mostly about family stuff as there's a bit going on with my ailing dad who is really not going so well and one of my brothers who has had one of those momentous life-speed-bumps get in his way, (not @tarazkp, my older brother who is not on hive.)

There's been a lot of development in this area and the esplanade walkway has changed over the years; It used to be no more than a footpath but now there's playgrounds, picnic areas, boardwalks, sculptures observation decks and all sorts of community spaces for people to enjoy.

The day wasn't really warm enough to go into the water although a few did. Most were walking along the sand with their dogs, families, friends or partners though. We stood and watched this exuberant fella (the dog) go a little crazy in and out of the water. You can see his owner, the chap in the dark pants struggling to keep up...He didn't manage it.

We planned to get to one of the little cafe precincts just near the jetty you see in the pictures and have some lunch and about an hour after starting out we arrived ready for a cool beverage and something to eat.

All the cafés are open, or mostly anyway, although they are limited to take-away and no more than 10 people sitting in an outside area. That was cool by us as we wanted to enjoy the day, and beach, so grabbed some chow and went back to the beach sitting on some rocks (below) and ate our lunch.

I had a crispy bacon, tomato, lettuce, cheddar cheese and mayo baguette and Faith had a smoked salmon, smashed avocado and feta cheese open sandwich on toasted rye. There's no pictures as we're not big on photographing food...We generally just eat it.

We shared a small lemon baked cheesecake as well. It was a pretty legit lunch, with the sounds of the small waves breaking on the shore providing the soundtrack.

After lunch we strolled up the jetty to have a sneaky peak to see if the jetty-anglers were catching anything...Judging by what we saw there's a few people going hungry tonight, that's if they were relying on their catch any way. Still, they were having fun so good on them right?

I grabbed this shot below from the jetty also. It shows a part of the beach and the few who were braving the water which would have been reasonably cool. The clouds in the distance were the only ones in the sky which was cool, although clouds do make for nice photos right? Oh well, there'll be plenty of those in the next coming months. You can see the yellow lifeguard tower on the left of shot, closed at this time of year of course.

We started the walk back from here grabbing some snaps along the way, a couple of which are below. Again, I didn't really have the right lens, and I'm a terrible photographer anyway, so they are what they are.

These were some flowers that were scratching out a living between the rocks; They were quite tiny but I liked the contrast of yellow and green against the ocean and sky which is what I tried to capture.

This is an iron pelican, there's actually three of these there, you can see the back of the second to the left and the third sits on a pole about 8 feet hight. They're pretty big and kind of cool, all welded together with a rusty patina; Worth photo I guess right?

We had a great day, pretty-much doing nothing at all, but enjoying each other's company and the weather. Of course, getting a little exercise is good too, although maybe the cheese cake negates the exercise? We only had half each though...Ok, I had a little more than half. Ok, I had a three quarters...Ok, damn you...Faith had one bite and I ate the rest! Lol.

We live for days like this and fortunately Adelaide autumns, and indeed winters, are quite mild and we often enjoy blue-sky days like this...It's a pretty nice place to live and we make the most of it, like today.

I hope you guys are all enjoying your respective Sundays, or will when the day arrives, and that you get after something that makes your heart sing, puts a smile on your face and inspires you to get out and live the best version of your life today.

Later y'all.

Sort:  

Hi @galenkp, your post has been upvoted by @bdcommunity courtesy of @hafizullah!


Support us by setting us as your witness proxy and/or by delegating STEEM POWER.

20 SP50 SP100 SP200 SP300 SP500 SP1000 SP

JOIN US ON

Looks like a pretty lovely day out for the beach. On the subject of cheesecake, how can one resist not taking more than just a slice? Maybe some, like Faith, but for the rest of us... They beckon to be eaten!

I love me some cheesecake.

Mate, who doesn't? I distrust people who say they don't like cheesecake.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63815.31
ETH 3124.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99