A (re)steem question...With a little help from William Shakespeare

in OCD5 years ago

“To resteem, or not to resteem? That is the question—Whether ’tis nobler in the mind to resteem the posts and writings of outrageous steemians, or to choose against a sea of resteems, and, by opposing, limit them?”

Ok, so that phrase is quite obviously a bastardised version of the phrase penned by none other than legit author, poet and play-write William Shakespeare which appears in his play Hamlet. In reality it reads like this:

“To be, or not to be? That is the question—Whether ’tis nobler in the mind to suffer the slings and arrows of outrageous fortune, Or to take arms against a sea of troubles, and, by opposing, end them?”

It contemplates the idea of whether it is better to live or die in certain circumstances - And is quite clearly not about resteeming although that's what I want to talk about today. Resteeming.

Not so long ago I unfollowed a user due to their incessant resteeming of people's posts...I mean loads of resteems! My feed was under siege from all those resteems and whilst sometimes there was something of interest usually they just got in the way and I found it all somewhat annoying.

After enduring months of it I unfollowed and now simply seek out that user periodically to read and upvote their posts. This way I can still support that user without being bombarded by all the resteems they do.

I completely understand the benefit of resteeming a post as it provides a little extra exposure for the resteemed post and its author which is great; I think it's the responsible thing to do and helps promote steem and retain users. I resteem posts occasionally too, not a lot I'll admit. I tend to do so when I really believe in the post or user and wish to help them along a little. However I am also mindful of my followers and whilst I don't know them all feel somewhat responsible for what I put in front of them.

I am fortunate enough to be a curator for @curangel which means I can promote a post for a user, gain them some exposure and some vote-love without the need to spam it to my followers. To be honest I feel there is greater benefit in doing so than in resteeming to my followers as a wider audience gets to see it. I have come across, and promoted, some great accounts along the way and have followed a few also.

It's not easy work though and sometimes I might go through hundreds in a day just to find a handful...That's where resteems come in I guess.

I've started going to the blogs of those I follow to look for posts they have resteemed hoping they maybe be something I can promote to curangel. It's worked here and there as most I follow seem to have good taste although as we are all different people with different likes and dislikes there's still things I'm not interested in there, which is cool of course; We can't all like everything right?

As a content creator and small account trying to build a brand here for the future I feel reluctant to resteem posts onto my blog too much as it can dilute the effectiveness of my own work. I don't know, maybe some may see that as selfish? I don't think so really, but I understand some may see it that way. I guess I don't want to inundate my followers with endless streams of unsolicited posts that may not interest them. I think also that, because I resteem rarely, when I do so those who follow me see it as something worthy of their time. I don't know, I could be wrong.

My question today is how much is too much when it comes to resteeming? What are your thoughts on the matter and how do you see excessive resteeming, or not enough resteeming, affecting your own blog and steem in general, if at all? I'm pretty sure there'll be all sorts of different ideas so I'm curious to hear what you all think.

Thanks for reading.


Tomorrow isn't promised - Design and create your ideal life, don't live it by default
An original post written by a human
Discord: galenkp#9209 🇦🇺

If you're wondering about the image, that's one I took at Anne Hathaway's house just one mile west of stratford-upon-Avon in the village of Shottery, Warwickshire, England. Anne Hathaway married William Shakespeare when he was 18 years old and she was 26. She grew up in this house and I thought the image would lend my post a somewhat shakespearean feel.

Sort:  

I realize you as a curator must be very collective in seeing interesting content.
It must be hard work, but I fully support and appreciate your extraordinary work

Yes, I see a lot of content, much of it very poor quality although some, like yours recently, that interests me and was written with passion and personality. That's what I look for.

I appreciate you responding as I believe that engagement on other users' posts will help build an account faster than posting will, provided the engagement comes together with good posts also. It's a balance, but engagement is a critical element.

I enjoy curating which is why I do it, and love coming across users who deserve a little promotion.

!ENGAGE 25

Engagement on other users' posts will help build an account faster than posting, provided that engagement is accompanied by good posts too.

that's what i want to do in steemit.
Stemeet has brought us to share history, culture, traditions and different environments. steemit has worldwide in our minds to share with each other. Each of us has different friends and family to know and share experiences. Different with different traditions. always see eye to eye. About what we don't see for an opportunity. I am also grateful for what has been built at Steemit for all of us. The opportunity to share what we love and learn new things and find interesting people.
Honestly, you are one of them
Thanks

Nicely said, and I agree completely. There is a great opportunity to draw from the collective here, to expand ones paradigm, challenge ones' thinking and perceived limitations and also to have fun...You seem to be on the right track which is excellent.

I agree with you
I love❤steem



@wira8788 you have received 25 ENGAGE from @galenkp!
View and trade the tokens on Steem Engine.


This tip bot is powered by witness untersatz!

I accidentally resteemed a heap of stuff under my account this week when it should have been to NM. D'oh.

I don't care about too many resteems... I just think you should be able to undo em, is all.

Yeah I saw that...I ended up muting most of them.

It's all good, I get that people want to do it, just that for me I'd rather be more selective and careful with what I put in front of my followers feeds. As I said, I scan people's resteems for stuff to curate, including your own feed...

P.s. I'm still jelly of your year off girl! Damn you! :)

!ENGAGE 20



@riverflows you have received 20 ENGAGE from @galenkp!
View and trade the tokens on Steem Engine.


This tip bot is powered by witness untersatz!

I have quite a few that I unfollowed thanks to their tons of resteems. I get resteeming, I am doing it as well, I found interesting people through resteems, but when's too much I don't care who's that user I'm gonna unfollow. My max per day is about two resteems. More than that I consider spamming.

I think that seems to be the general consensus Adrian...I don't understand the reason for excessively spamming resteems as firstly it annoys people and secondly it annoys people and thirdly it annoys people. 😁 Seriously though, I don't think many resteems actually helps those being resteemed as people seeing them come in thick and fast from a particular user tend to shut off to them.

Thanks for commenting.

!ENGAGE 20



@acesontop you have received 20 ENGAGE from @galenkp!
View and trade the tokens on Steem Engine.


This tip bot is powered by witness untersatz!

Thanks. It's the first time I read about this 😶. Sounds interesting though.

I think that you do it right, Galen. It is an honor when you resteem, and I would imagine that your followers know this. You also weigh the post against it's validity to the flow and content of your own blog. It is important to have a flow which I am learning. The reason for that is: Your followers, followed you for a reason. So, even though that at some times may feel a little limiting, there is a different way to look at it. We are creative people, so we can choose to look at things in whatever light we would like. I think, that we should look at that limitation as a challenge. We can ask ourselves this question: How can we write different types of content and bring our readers new perspectives without damaging our flow and without offending them with sporadic, unwanted product?

The answers that we find should further us in our talent for writing as well as develop, even in ourselves, new perspectives and ways of thinking. Everybody wins, that way!

Nice post! Thanks for sharing!

Thanks mate, I appreciate it.

I agree that each of our followers have followed for a reason and to disrespect them, for lack of a better term, by spamming them is not the best way to thank them for following. I will resteem something I don't love if I think it needs the support, but usually I only do so when I like the post.

People always need to think about their brand and how they are represented...Having a lot of random posts on their feed isn't the best way to go I think.

I feel pretty confident that many feel the same way I do.

Thanks for commenting as always. Engagement is the vehicle to carry us into the future.

!ENGAGE 20

Lol STEEM MACHINE!!! ;0 HOORAH



@badseedalchemist you have received 20 ENGAGE from @galenkp!
View and trade the tokens on Steem Engine.


This tip bot is powered by witness untersatz!

Congratulations @galenkp! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 27500 replies. Your next target is to reach 28000 replies.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard Ranking update - A better rich list comparator
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

This is an excellent reading that made me reflect on resteem and its true usefulness or not, thank you for showing me many truths that one sometimes thinks he is doing well and he is not. A hug for you, dear friend @galenkp

You're welcome.

We all think differently and what one may feel is legitimate another may not. I don't think there's a right or wrong in this case, just personal choice and preference. I think many users don't fully understand the implications of excessive resteems which is why I wrote that post. I resteem so rarely so when I do my followers tend to take more notice and assume it is something worthy of their attention.

It's all about choice though. I choose to build my own brand and to have loads of random posts on my own blog isn't the way to do so.

I also unfollowed quite a few Steemians because of excessive resteeming. I mean it clogs up your feed big time. There is no real use in doing so because you will just get pissed off and scroll through it.

I have even unfollowed some people who wrote good content themselves. One of these people asked my why I unfollowed and I told it like it was, and while this persons feelings might have gotten hurt, I think it is better to be honest.

Ah yeah, hurting people's feelings is a risk when unfollowing but you explained your reason so all good. I wonder if they decided to change their ways due to what you told them? Would be interesting to see. Huh?

I think the occasional resteem is fine.

Posted using Partiko Android

Agreed...I have actually followed a couple of people you resteemed and also sent them to curangel. You have exemplary taste sir. Lol.

My issue arises when people spam-resteem 20 people in a row, every day...Not cool. A couple here and there, the really good ones and it's all good.

Thanks for commenting brah, hope you're having a good night.

Thank you I am glad that you found some of my resteems to be worthy of following. Yes 20 plus resteems is just off putting for sure. Yes my night is going well thanks. Hoping you both are are having a good night to👍

Posted using Partiko Android

Yep, been a good night. Made a video for my Mack Anthem Lego which is now complete. I'll post the video tomorrow. Almost 11:30 now though so not long and it'll be bed time. Early start in the morning...And the roundabout starts all over again 🤪

Thank you I am glad that you found some of my resteems to be worthy of following. Yes 20 plus resteems is just off putting for sure. Exemplary taste's must be why I follow you 😀. Yes my night is going well thanks. Hoping you both are are having a good night to👍

Posted using Partiko Android

Great question sir galenkp! That's one of my pet pieves on steemit, people who resteem so many posts everyday that you can't even find their posts.

I try not to do it much because I don't know what other people like, they might not like the type of post I resteem. Generally I like to resteem posts that have to do with the platform and affect everyone on here.

My micro account with few followers doesn't help much anyway. lol.

Maybe some do it because they don't know how the system works and that's ok, I guess they can't really be blamed. It's a personal choice though really, as it is is for me to unfollow incessant resteemers.

Absolutely. Ha, I just noticed that it's been 17 hours since you wrote your comment, I'm way behind today but anyway I don't have anything to say except I agree. lol.

Hmm, I tend not to resteem (I think, my followers may feel differently :)-). I have two reasons for resteeming: the first and most important one is when I think a post may be of interest to some of, if not all, my followers. The second one is posts that I may want to refer back to because they have interesting ideas that I will want to use in other settings - mainly work. I agree this is lazy, could be annoying for followers, and it would be better to bookmark them. One day I will sort that out.
As a general rule, I don't like lots of resteems on other people's blogs or my own.
Regarding looking for good posts - are resteems more fruitful than the new pages? I guess it depends on the tribes/frontend, but in the tribes that I support, I begin my search on the new page, I soon learn who is producing stuff I want to support :) Or I might even get fancy and search posts created under a specific tag. It would be very interesting to read the different approaches that people, formal curators and everyone else, have towards curation.

Hey there, I agree with you about the resteeming of course and also understand your reasons to do so for ease of use to look them up later. I generally use an excel spreadsheet for that purpose. My own and others' posts.

I actually find that checking for resteems by those I follow isn't a bad way to find new and worthy posts...Of course there's still stuff I hate, like Splinterlands and Actifit there, but it's easier to troll through than going to the new tab. I also look in the communities those hive things which helps as well.

Going through the new tab is a complete waste of time for me as I simply cannot promote anything in which the author hasn't shown some passion, personality and effort. The new tab seems to be plagued by a lack of good posts although on occasions I have found a diamond in the rough.

I think it's safe to say that if you (for instance) have resteemed something there's a fair chance it's pretty good and so I think, yes, resteems can have some value...I'm not a fan of people spamming them out like they do though...Turns me off.

Thanks for commenting and I also look forward to see what people have to say about resteems and how they feel it works out for them.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63281.14
ETH 2674.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79