Focus to Shift from Blog to Community?

in OCD5 years ago (edited)

This may not be very clear yet.

I finished yesterday's post by asking when will the main interfaces switch to communities.

There is an amendment to that question.

Here's how my blog feed looks on SteemPeak's main interface (I excluded resteems to better make my point).
image.png
(now that I look at it... I should definitely add nicer pictures all the time...)

The point is, on the main interface I have posts every day of the week.

On the beta interface, here's what we can see on my personal blog:

image.png

"Missing days" on my personal blog, although I posted every day. Which means the other days I posted inside a community. This is where we are heading... Toward the beta interface. And toward less content on your personal blog and more inside communities, unless you are resteeming your content on your personal blog as well.

I'm not a highly visual person, but this is how I see this transition.

From something like this
japan4141578_1280.jpg
Source

to something like this
people2598902_1280.jpg
Source

If you are using the main interfaces, you probably are less aware of this content shifting towards communities.

By the way, I tested this: If you create a post now with the beta interface and resteem it to your own blog, you won't see a double on your personal blog on the main interface. You can't resteem your own posts from the main interfaces, by the way, as it makes no sense. On the beta interfaces it was the solution found to have content on both your personal blog and the communities.

The shift in content from personal blogs to communities is interesting to consider from the point of view of the shift in influence and spreading the message.

At the same time, people have role models, people they follow and appreciate. How will that change in the new communities ecosystem? That will be interesting to watch. I hope "following" won't become undervalued.

After new types of communities will be created, I propose the creation of a call-to-action community, a journal or council type community to include the community admins and possibly some moderators.

Its role would be to quickly spread an important message for the whole Steem ecosystem throughout every community. Or only important to know for the community leaders right away.

I don't have the weight as a steemian to create a community of community admins and make it count when the time will come, so I hope someone more prominent will do it.

Sort:  

Good point wrt spreading messages between communities. I actually looking forward to see how the other UIs will implement communities. Every UI may be different. I can imagine we will see UIs around that integrate Blog and Community channels in one. Whatever is going to happen; I think it'll be good when moderators of different communities will keep touch with those of other communities. In addition, we will still have community independent services like steemcleaners and likely many more.

I can imagine we will see UIs around that integrate Blog and Community channels in one.

I don't know about that. These feeds are different and so far SteemPeak has taken the same approach as Steemit in this area.

Time will tell :)

I created a test community and I predict it will not the impact desired.

I don't have the impact desired with my SteemHelp community either. :)

Damn... so many places to go. So many places to remember. I try some but in the end I always come back to Steemit.com.... Still the easiest for me to use. It just works. On all my devices. All the time. Every day.

Haha, you're right! I feel lost sometimes myself. I found out about a not-so-new tribe that others use often yesterday. In the end it's a matter of focus, priorities and the people you are most often in contact with or stuff you most often do on Steem. Those will dictate what you'll use.

Congratulations @gadrian! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 60968.19
ETH 2367.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56