A Witch in the Kitchen: FRUITS AND VEGGIES MONDAY - A Delicious Russian Salad because I forgot my lunch!

in OCD4 years ago (edited)

Helloaa My Dear Little Witches...!

Growing up next to a father who could not conceive of a meal without meat or cheese has been a hard challenge to get away from meat consumption, but little by little I am going, and Fruit and Vegetable Mondays are a perfect excuse to prepare a dish without any animal products and thus educate my parents and siblings, but also educate myself in this lifestyle, although getting a pleasant taste to the taste of a regular meat consumer is somewhat difficult, imagine eliminating cheese, dairy and eggs, but certainly you can.

One of the best allies to start this path, in my opinion, are the salads, either fresh, cooked or mixed, particularly I love them all (after hating them for many years), they are the perfect solution for when you are short of time, and even for when the imagination is not enough, because the day was agitated.

Recently I have acquired new challenges and entrepreneurship, which have left me with time on my hands so to speak, so now you see fewer recipes and even fewer posts on my blog, but that's a long story that I will soon tell you. This reduction of free time for many things has left me many times with my lunch hour over and with nothing in the kitchen, and today I pass, thank God my express pot saved me, to prepare a delicious Russian salad with beets, this one, believe it or not is my big brother's favorite.

Making this salad is very easy, the downside in this case is that the beets and carrots require a considerable amount of cooking time to achieve the right texture to make the salad, so today I made use of the pressure cooker or express pan, just 15 minutes in it and ready, peel and chop. To make this salad you will need beets, carrots, potatoes, and my personal touch of onion and cabbage, a simple dressing with aquafaba vegan mayonnaise, mustard, lemon juice, salt, sugar and pepper, nothing else.

After having our vegetables soft and cold, we cut them in cubes, equally we cut the onion and the cabbage, and we mix everything very well to add the dressing, stir and that's it. I personally put it in the refrigerator for a few minutes so that when serving it cold, some people prefer it at room temperature. Accompanied with a good rice with vegetables and caramelized bananas, this salad is perfect for me, and it's the ideal way for my father and brothers not to complain about asking for meat or chicken.

Yes, I tell you that for many years I hated salads, I was one of those who set aside the vegetables at lunch and especially hated mayonnaise, I discovered aquafaba mayonnaise and simply fell in love, it is the ideal complement to almost all salads, I learned the importance of salads at meals and above all to understand that a good dressing can make a difference, and like me, you would end up loving them.

And this was my #fruitsandveggiesmonday of this week, if you want to know more about this initiative, you have to go to the blog of the beautiful @lenasveganliving, there you will find this link with the instructions, and you will see the infinity of healthy options that she constantly shares with us.



Images of my property, taken with the lens of my iPhone 5S and edited with Power Point 2013.


.

Thanks for taking the time to read this post, if you have any questions, critics or suggestions, I would appreciate it if you leave them in the comment box, and remember, you can make magic in the kitchen too!


















@SM-Spanish Community Discord )




Come and support @Cervantes as Witness in https://steemit.com/~witnesses



Come and supports @Aggroed as Witness in https://steemit.com/~witnesses

@Repollo Discord
@Templo Discord
@Steem-ua Discord
@Steemmonsters Discord


Join @upmewhale's Discord





A proud member of



Sort:  

Resteem to 2300 steemians and upvote!

Please reserve one plate for me :P

Hi @fmbs25, your post has been upvoted by @bdcommunity courtesy of @hafizullah!


Support us by setting us as your witness proxy or delegating STEEM POWER.

20 SP50 SP100 SP200 SP300 SP500 SP1000 SP

JOIN US ON

Hi, @fmbs25!

You just got a 0.48% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

My father was the same, a meal just wasn't a meal if there was no meat! Thankfully my hubby and enjoys meatless meals and this challenge has taught me so much about plant-based foods! Your plate looks delicious!

I plan to take advantage of this challenge to at least once a week get my family used to eating plant-based foods, fruits and vegetables, and if possible more than one day a week!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66077.75
ETH 3167.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01