A Witch in the Kitchen: "Delicious Vegan Yellow Pea Meatballs"

in OCD4 years ago

Hello My Dear Little Witches...

One of the vegan recipes that I love the most is the vegetable meat made from legumes, either lentils, chickpeas or as in this case yellow peas, is the perfect way to start introducing vegan food to those who are regular meat eaters, and the truth is that at home they have been very well received. Today I wanted to prepare some meatballs in sauce, and what I had on hand for them were some yellow peas (they sure lasted a long time), so I got to work.



My brother has been coming to lunch since last week, because he was left alone in his house and the only thing he can cook are sandwiches, he hates vegetable meat, and I wasn't going to change my lunch plans for him, so, I made him a little trap and what do you think? he ate the meatballs without a word, after he found out I run around the house but in the end he admitted that they were delicious and that he was wrong about the vegetable meat.



This preparation is the same as other vegetable meats I have done, and many tell me it is a somewhat tedious and long process, and it certainly is, however the results are worth the effort, in fact some relatives when they ask me how I prepare them tell me it is a lot of work and that they prefer that I prepare them for them, but come with me and I will show you how to prepare this delicious yellow pea vegan meatball. Enjoy!


Ingredients


For the vegetable meat.

  • 500 grams of yellow peas, previously hydrated.
  • 1/2 medium beet, grated.
  • 4 spoons of almond milk.
  • 1 tsp of ground cumin.
  • 2 tablespoons of cornmeal.
  • 1 tbsp of cooking salt.
  • 1/4 teaspoon of ground black pepper
  • 1/2 tablespoon of dry parsley

    For the sauce.

  • 3 large, ripe tomatoes.
  • 1 medium carrot cut into cubes
  • 1 large onion, diced,
  • 6 red peppers chopped into quarters.
  • 1 piece of minced garlic.
  • 1/2 tablespoon of common salt.
  • 1 tablespoon of sugar.
  • 1/2 tsp of ground cumin.
  • 1/4 teaspoon of ground black pepper.
  • 4 basil leaves.
  • 1 teaspoon of fresh oregano
  • 500 ml of water.
  • Oil for frying meatballs.

  • Preparation



    • Difficulty level: Medium
    • Preparation time: 4 hours
    • Cooking time: 60 minutes






    We begin by preparing our sauce, for which we add in a saucepan the tomato, onion, peppers, garlic, and carrot, and season, with the sugar, salt, cumin and pepper, add the water and take to medium heat for about 30 minutes.



    Halfway through the cooking time, add the oregano and basil, after 30 minutes turn off the heat and let it rest for a while, to process our sauce with the help of a blender, set it aside.



    With our peas already hydrated and that have doubled their size, we start to process them with the help of a mill, manual or electric (they can be helped with a mixer or hand blender), and we start to season, adding the salt, cumin, parsley and pepper.



    We continue adding the corn flour, the almond milk, you can use any vegetable milk, and we add the grated beet (this is the secret touch to fool my brother), we integrate everything and we make our meatballs.


    In a pot with enough oil to fry, seal our meatballs and set aside, then in a large pot add half of the sauce and place the meatballs already sealed, then bathe them with the rest of the sauce, cook for about 15 minutes more over medium heat, and Voila! we have our meatballs ready.





    While I'm not 100 percent vegan, I do enjoy some good dishes, and I've been slowly bringing my diet to the point where I hope to stop eating animal foods altogether, and one of the tricks that has helped me is to deceive the eye, For that as this case I added a touch of beet, to give a little color to the peas and thus deceive my brother, and the truth is that it works, because accompanied by the seasonings and spices that I add to the preparation, the flavor is equal to the meat and this is something I love. Besides, it combines perfectly with almost everything.





    Images of my property, taken with the camera of my iPhone 5s and edited with PowerPoint 2013



    .

    Thank you for taking the time to read this publication, if you have any questions, criticisms or suggestions, I would appreciate it in the comments box, and remember, you can also do magic in the kitchen!
















    @SM-Spanish Community Discord )




    Come and support @Cervantes as Witness in https://steemit.com/~witnesses



    Come and supports @Aggroed as Witness in https://steemit.com/~witnesses

    @Repollo Discord
    @Templo Discord
    @Steem-ua Discord
    @Steemmonsters Discord


    Join @upmewhale's Discord





    A proud member of



Sort:  

Hi, @fmbs25!

You just got a 0.64% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Hahaha, I love the piece where you say; "to deceive the eye"
My eye was once deceived by an aunt who made us "Mince Pies"
I looked forward to pies with spiced beef mince mixed with potatoes and onion in the pies.
The pies looked a bit weird, as they were smaller than normal pies, but I took a big bite.
Wow! No mince, only minced fruit. Since then I have parted ways with mince pies hahaha.
Looks like a great meal here in your post!
Blessings!

coffeea Lucky you @fmbs25 here is your COFFEEA, view all your tokens at steem-engine.com Vote for c0ff33a as Witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69849.38
ETH 3709.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73