You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Thoughtful Thursday - Having depression doesn't mean I'm just sad

in OCD5 years ago

The first time I was diagnosed with clinical depression, my response:

I'm not depressed!

The doctor: Then why are you crying?

That, of course, precipitated even more sobbing. Ever since then I have had a healthy respect for the black dog and how it creeps up on one. Completely unknown. It's not something one can just snap out of - no matter how one tries.

And yes, why are we so afraid to acknowledge depression? I suspect because it's one of those "but you don't look sick" situations. Or it's "all in her head" and the embarrassment that goes with mental unhealth.

At the risk of stating the obvious, thank you for braving it and telling it like it is from the perspective of someone who is there. I know how deep you had to dig to do this.

Take care, and as I said, this is one dog you need to kick to hell and back.

Sort:  

Bless you, Asher!



@fionasfavourites you have received 25 ENGAGE from @abh12345!
View and trade the tokens on Steem Engine.


This tip bot is powered by witness untersatz!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 63352.53
ETH 2447.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67