Why Am I Still Here?steemCreated with Sketch.

in OCD4 years ago (edited)

image.png

It's been a little over four months since I've joined this platform, 122 days to be exact. Even despite everything that's been going on lately, I'm still here and I don't plan on going anywhere anytime soon. I joined this platform because I wanted a new creative outlet, a platform that wouldn't censor me like Reddit seemingly kept doing. It was because of that censorship that I deleted my Reddit account all together. This is now the sole place that I go to let out my thoughts and ideas. I can't be censored here. I can say whatever I want.

TeamOCD and @acidyo introduced me to this platform back then. It's changed my life for the better in a small way... honestly it has. I wanted to use this platform to write about the things that mean the most to me. Gaming, technology, and crypto are some of my passions and I share those passions with you all here on a regular basis.

When I first started, I primarily wrote about gaming and technology. Many of my early posts were about God's Unchained and PC gaming. It was due in part to those early posts that this community allowed me to earn just enough money via Steem to buy the budget gaming PC that I've written about before. A computer is just a computer to many, but to me it's been a key to freedom in a way. I can now play any game that I want to without just being restricted to the 2D games that I used to have to stick to. I also use this computer to write these articles that you're reading now.

image.png

Not only has this platform and this community helped me to buy my computer, but it's also helped me get by day to day until I start my new job. I don't make much on here, but when I was having to count pennies to buy something from the store, it was pretty impactful to me.

While the financial side of things is nice, it's not the main reason that I'm still here.

This platform has been a way for me to express my thoughts and ideas that would otherwise just be bouncing around in my head. It's therapeutic for me honestly. It's hard to explain much better than that.

I'm also still here because of the community. I enjoy reading content lately almost as much as I enjoy writing it. We have some very talented content creators on here. Some of the work that they put out is just incredible.

Lastly, I'm here because my friends are here. Even though I haven't personally talked to all of them, I consider everyone at @TeamOCD to be my friends. They're really an incredible group of people and I'm thankful for everything that they've done for me... from the bottom of my heart I really am.

This is why I'm still here.

I decided to write this after @theycallmedan posted this initiative on his blog recently.

Sort:  

The Steem blockchain is currently being attacked by a central authority in order to take control of the witnesses. If you are not managing your witness votes, please consider setting @berniesanders as your witness voting proxy by clicking here to help restore the decentralization of Steem.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 66338.04
ETH 3306.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69