A new find - Romulea ramiflora | Vote for a witness!steemCreated with Sketch.

in OCD5 years ago (edited)

When I thought that I already saw all the spring blooming flowers around and photographed them, I found this little one.
I have never saw it before in any of the locations before and I did go to this place many times. Now as I was walking around I saw this one tine purple flower growing almost directly from the sand.
Then another... and another.. and it was like there were always there I just didn't see them.

Romulea ramiflora



Romulea ramiflora purple wildflower 8.jpg

Romulea ramiflora purple wildflower 7.jpg

Romulea ramiflora purple wildflower 1.jpg

Romulea ramiflora also called Sand Crocus belong to the Iris family. I found it growing near the coast in a very sandy sail. Their blooming season is not and I think I managed to catch in their peak. That also explains why I never saw it before. I usually go to check on the spring flowers much later, so I simply miss them.

I found a cool map online about its habitat. I always find it interesting to see where a certain plant can be found.

image.png
source

The flowers very pretty small, maybe 2 cm across and just a few cm tall. They do grow up from the soil like crocuses do, on a very short stem. It reminds me a flower of one of my cactus. Similar shape and purple colour with very delicate petals.
Leaves are long and thin like grass laying down on the soil. Not many of them on each plant and they look pretty messy. Underground they hide little bulb that will store all the nutrients needed to survive the though the hot summer and still have enough energy to grow next year.
The place where I found them had some wildfires few years back. But all those bulbous plants survived even though everything above the ground got burned to a crisp. Good to see them all pop like if nothing happened.

Romulea ramiflora purple wildflower 2.jpg

Romulea ramiflora purple wildflower 6.jpg

I found another larger group of them closer to some bushes among grasses and moss. You can see the little moss spores around - that will give an idea of the size of the flowers. Itsy bitsy things.
In a few weeks they will stop blooming and I will not see them until next year. But now I know I have to go early in the year to find them. I have to say that they are very beautiful little things.

Romulea ramiflora purple wildflower 3.jpg

Romulea ramiflora purple wildflower 4.jpg

Romulea ramiflora purple wildflower 5.jpg



Don't forget to vote our witnesses.
You can easily do it via Steemitwallet https://steemitwallet.com/~witnesses, Steempeak https://steempeak.com/witnesses or Steemworld https://steemworld.org.

More details in THIS post.

Steem on!

»«
Shot with Nikon D5500 + Sigma 105mm lens
All photos and text are my own.

»»-------------¤-------------««

REGISTRATION | UPVOTE VALUES | NEW MEMBERS BONUS

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just resteemed your post!
Week 24 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory
!DERANGED
8

Russia is not included, on that map.. :/

but we have a lot of others! :))

I'd say it is too cold for it there.
Yeaaaa and lots of mushrooms!

Wow! You see tiny things with big eyes!!

Haha yeaa :D

/ᐠ.ᴗ.ᐟ\


Questo post è stato condiviso e votato all'interno del discord del team curatori di discovery-it Entra nella nostra community! hive-193212
This post was shared and voted inside the discord by the curators team of discovery-it. Join our community! hive-193212


Thank you :)

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=ewkaw
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=a-new-find-romulea-ramiflora-or-vote-for-a-witness


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Is not piiiiink!!!

Not this time :D

Hi @ewkaw!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.269 which ranks you at #1812 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 16 places in the last three days (old rank 1796).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 83 contributions, your post is ranked at #22.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Beautiful little flower! Great photography.

Thanks a lot :)

This post was chosen to be voted by THEUNION.
theunion.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 60736.77
ETH 2370.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63