The romantic dogs / Los perros románticos

in OCD4 years ago

The adventures of dogs on the beach have always caught my attention. How different their sunny afternoons from those of the city stray dog.

Siempre han llamado mi atención las andanzas de los perros en la playa. Cuán diferentes sus tardes de sol a las del perro callejero de la ciudad.

DSC00759.jpg

I took these doggy photos a few years ago on a beach that I especially remember when I miss the sea. Today is one of those days.

Tomé estas fotos perrunas hace unos años en una playa de esas que se recuerdan de forma especial cuando se extraña el mar. Hoy es uno de esos días.

DSC00757.jpg

Me pareció una escena tan romántica la de este par. Una pareja contemplando las olas mientras caía el sol.

It seemed to me such a romantic scene that this pair made. A couple watching the waves as the sun went down.

I think this marine painting combines very well with a poem by Roberto Bolaño. It is called 'The Romantic Dogs' and it is also the name of his third book of poetry, published in 1994. The English translation is by Laura Healy, and part of the book I found it at this link: https://bit.ly/36hmV1

Creo que este cuadro marino combina muy bien con un poema de Roberto Bolaño. Se llama 'Los perros románticos' y también es el nombre de su tercer libro de poesía, publicado en el año 1994. La traducción al inglés es de Laura Healy, y parte del libro lo he encontrado en este enlace: https://bit.ly/36hmV1u

roberto-bolan_o.jpg

Los perros románticos

En aquel tiempo yo tenía veinte años
y estaba loco.
Había perdido un país
pero había ganado un sueño.
Y si tenía ese sueño
lo demás no importaba.
Ni trabajar ni rezar
ni estudiar en la madrugada
junto a los perros románticos.
Y el sueño vivía en el vacío de mi espíritu.
Una habitación de madera,
en penumbras,
en uno de los pulmones del trópico.
Y a veces me volvía dentro de mí
y visitaba el sueño: estatua eternizada
en pensamientos líquidos,
un gusano blanco retorciéndose
en el amor.
Un amor desbocado.
Un sueño dentro de otro sueño.
Y la pesadilla me decía: crecerás.
Dejarás atrás las imágenes del dolor y del laberinto
y olvidarás.
Pero en aquel tiempo crecer hubiera sido un crimen.
Estoy aquí, dije, con los perros románticos
y aquí me voy a quedar.

THE ROMANTIC DOGS

Back then, I'd reached the age of twenty
and I was crazy.
I'd lost a country
but won a dream.
As long as I had that dream
nothing else mattered.
Not working, not praying
not studying in morning light
alongside the romantic dogs.
And the dream lived in the void of my spirit.
A wooden bedroom,
cloaked in half-light,
deep in the lungs of the tropics.
And sometimes I'd retreat inside myself
and visit the dream; A statue eternalized
in liquid thoughts,
a white worm writhing
in love.
A runaway love.
A dream within another dream.
And the nightmare telling me: you will grow up.
You'll leave behind the images of pain and of the labyrinth
and you'll forget.
But back then, growing up would have been a crime.
I'm here, I said, with the romantic dogs
and here I'm going to stay.

Reference

https://bit.ly/3g0R75s

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58389.23
ETH 2521.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35