You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The gravity of an existential threat to the core of crypto

in OCD4 years ago

In my experience the core users of Steem are not the core users of cryptocurrency at all. It's a small marginal group within the wider culture. Not that it's a negative, I just don't follow the narrative. Steem maximalists would think they are central to the story; Just like XRP army or Justin Sun's TRX people would think they are central.

Sort:  

Nearly all crypto traders are maximalists, they have to be as that is the nature of trading. However, there is a timeline issue as to when they became maximalists, because once upon a time, Bitcoin didn't really have much value.

I disagree that they aren't the core users of cryptocurrency though, as the Steem core are the intended users. It was never meant to be a technology for trading alone, it was meant o empower ordinary people and give them options outside the central framework. Steem does this, better than most other chains as most other chains are nearly all based on trading sentiment, whereas here, people are making the decision to risk their value in favor of their ideals.

It is all very interesting to be a part of.

!ENGAGE 25

I agree that it is all very interesting. I disagree that "most other chains are nearly all based on trading sentiment" but it's not important in the discussion about steem containing the core of cryptocurrency. I myself, am still chain agnostic, I don't believe the chain that I would be maximalist for, exists currently as is, or may ever exist for that matter. Not that I am representative of the core of cryptocurrency, but in my daily activities following blockchain steem comes up as a topic very little. Just like you, I have never pulled a penny out of steem, or any other of over 300 assets I own, in over 4 years. Cryptocurrency was never meant as a pathway to fiat.

This is the problem, the pathway to fiat. This is what most other chains are providing people.

I agree it's a problem. The core of cryptocurrency doesn't think in dollars.

fiat.png

image.png

Edit: because I clicked post to early...
I have mentioned that as a change in the UI for almost 3 years.... Put it in Steem.



@empath you have received 25 ENGAGE from @tarazkp!
View and trade the tokens on Steem Engine.


This tip bot is powered by witness untersatz!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63822.89
ETH 3083.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99