You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 1917 - Probably no spoilers

in OCD5 years ago

As far as the film, it had atmosphere, there was never a doubt about that, more than I wanted to see with the rats and horses. Gruesome and shocking, but, I will be the first to admit, great camerawork.

Less back and forth the further in we got, but, there were no words needed. As you say, it was more about the people than the goings-on around, no stories to go back on, just what is in front of you.

I like your take and analogy of the movie/life as a whole. I cannot even begin to convey to you just how much I dislike the senselessness of war, lives lost and money spent to fuel it. World War I was a catastrophic mistake on our part and we should have kept out of it. It strengthened suppressive regimes and helped touch off another world war, and the cold war.

When I was young, the television would bring it right into my living room, my house, my sanctuary. I can remember being terrorized by it, waiting for the day when my own country would be bombed. But, wait. What about the country they were showing? That upset me even more. Knowing I was hoping it wouldn't touch me, yet knowing it was affecting another's life.

War is ugly.

As far as knowing people in the Twin Towers. I knew a few. I still have running scenarios in my head about that day. it was awful. I worked in the city as I lived close enough to get a great job there. I dated one of the guys in the fire company that perished. That day changed my entire life. Without getting dramatic about it, life here has never been the same carefree way that it once was. And for that, it makes me sad.

Well, now I have totally gotten off topic... Great review.

tip

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68218.35
ETH 2640.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69