Things to do while in self-isolation

in OCD4 years ago

With the world in the midst of the Covid-19 pandemic, more and more people are stuck at home and temporarily out of work. Estimates are exceeding 1 billion people around the globe are in some form of self isolation. While some can work from home, others are in service roles so are away from work for long periods - here in New Zealand we started our first day today of our 30 day lockdown. Although daunting for some, it can be an opportunity for growth (or just a chance to catch up on Netflix....)

coronavirus-4937221_1920.jpg

Read


I am a big fan of reading, but often dont have the time to immerse myself in a good book. Now with loads of time I will be increasing the ammount I am reading. Luckily I have a Kindle so I dont have to leave the house to get new books.

Netflix or other streaming services


I am not a huge watcher of TV (I prefer reading with my spare time), however, I have a large list of shows I have intended to watch but havent had the time. I started watching Vikings and am loving it. Binge worthy shows I can recommend include Grace & Frankie, True Blood, Grimm, Breaking Bad and Outrageous Fortune (Greatest New Zealand TV show!).

Exercise


In New Zealand the gyms and any fitness centres are close for a month. However, we are aloud out to exercise, and it is also amazing what you can do in your own home- pullups, pushups, swiss ball, burpees and many more! You are only limited to your imagination on this. There are loads of great videos on Youtube for home workouts too.

Cleaning


Loads of people dislike cleaning or just put it off! However, if you are stuck at home its a great time to get in and give your house a spring clean - windows, floors, vacuuming, dusting etc. It will be great to come out the other end of isolation with a cleaner house.

Learn a new skill


With all of this time on your hands it is a perfect time to put into learning a new skill or developing a new habit. I have been quite interested in coding and this is something I might put time into learning the basics of over the next 30 days. Learning a new skill takes time, and this is something alot of us have an excess of currently!

Whatever you do, dont waste this time!


Wherever you are, stay safe! Look at this time as a time for growth and a time where you can get stuck into those things you have been putting off for months of even years!

Also posted on my Hive blog!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 60807.32
ETH 3349.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48