Kuala Lumpur Monkeys

in OCD4 years ago

We have just left Kuala Lumpur after one week. We are now back in Bangkok.
We didn't know what to expect from Kuala Lumpur and we didn't do all the things people do there such as the Batu Caves which I heard were really nice. We did go to the Petronas Towers and looked up. That was pretty cool.

We had heard of an eco park which is an old preserved jungle area in the middle of the city. This is totally the kind of thing we dig. This was a must for us so we went there the other day ready for a hike in a tropical lush jungle.

When we got to the entrance which is also on the grounds of the Kuala Lumpur tower, we noticed that the fee to get in was much more than the local's price. We decided not to go in.

We walked away and noticed what I came for in the first place.

Monkeys!!!!

DSC_4469.jpg

DSC_4502.jpg

These are Silver Leaf monkeys and they were unbelievably docile. It was as if there was a glass shield in front of us that they couldn't see through. I got so close.

DSC_4477.jpg

I know for some people it may not mean much, but I come from Canada and the only wild animals you see in the city are squirrels and pigeons. For me it's a once in a lifetime opportunity.

DSC_4488.jpg

I could have watched them all day. They had such a loving community. They seemed genuinely very content and respectful of each other.

DSC_4494.jpg

The grooming of each other was to me the most interesting. The groomer was very involved in the process and the receiver was just relaxed like a human receiving intensive spa therapy.

DSC_4520.jpg

vlcsnap-2020-02-25-22h35m49s313.jpg

DSC_4523.jpg

I couldn't help but wonder if they are taking turns or if there is a hierarchy. There was such a respect on both ends.

DSC_4530.jpg

It was amazing that they didn't look to us for food. I was slightly worried about being attacked but only because of what I've heard about monkeys. I wouldn't make any sudden moves around them just to be sure.

DSC_4542.jpg

DSC_4534.jpg

DSC_4543.jpg

One of the greatest moments was when I saw a monkey behind the fence, clutching to what I thought was a stuffed toy that someone had given her. I realized shortly after that it was a baby silver leaf.

It was orange.

DSC_4518.jpg

They are living in a strange environment in my opinion. Perhaps they are lucky in a sense. They're free to jump in trees and experience the jungle life. They can go anywhere they please. There are no cages. I'm sure they are being fed by the park. They are also kind of in captivity in the middle of a large city full of tall buildings, roads, highways and traffic.

DSC_4504.jpg

DSC_4507.jpg

Unlike monkeys deep in the jungle away from people they are having a different experience, mingling with humans who admire them and protect them (I hope).

DSC_4554.jpg

DSC_4556.jpg

DSC_4515.jpg

I loved witnessing this level of on going contentment. I think though, I would get bored with too much of it as a human.
But then again, I can't jump from tree to tree.

If I could.... I would do that all day.

DSC_4558.jpg

Sort:  

Thanks for sharing your experience with us!
TIBLogo

You have been curated on behalf of Inner Blocks: a community encouraging first hand content, with each individual living their best life, and being responsible for their own well being. #innerblocks Check it out at @innerblocks for the latest information and community updates, or to show your support via delegation.

These pictures are amazing @carolynstahl. Thank you! My husband and I had so much fun enjoying the faces of this little monkey. Hard to believe they live in this small area in the center of the city. Hard at work taking care of one another :) Glad to see you're doing well, enjoying your travels!

Aww nice to hear from you I 'm glad you and your husband enjoyed it.
Thank you!

Hi Carolyn, it's amazing how you can get so close to take these beautiful photos of the monkeys. I hope they weren't aggressive at all.

By the way, as you may be aware already, I'm part of the @SteemitWorldmap curation team and it would be great to see your post on the map. Some of your previous posts have been pinned on to the map already, you probably just wasn't aware of it. You can pin your travel posts directly on the map reagrdless of which front end you use. Just got to
http://steemitworldmap.com, click on the 'code' at the bottom of the map and follow the instructions or check out the FAQ to get your post on the map. Hope to see you soon and that you will follow us @steemitworldmap for our daily #TravelDigest!!!

Thank I will do that I am trying to figure out a lot of things on steemit right now. I am quite confused about much haha.

Hi @carolynstahl, here is your DPET token, go to check your wallet at https://steem-engine.com

They look so jovial!

They really seemed that way for sure haha.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67947.42
ETH 3264.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66