You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Maricia: A Mother

in OCD5 years ago (edited)

wow! I hate to use a cliche like tear-jerker but this is powerful, high-impact, and inspiring. And it feels so authentic. I would swear that you took this story straight from real life. The part about a wife being advised to honor her marriage vows also rings true. They forget the part that husbands are to treasure, honor, and respect their wives, and what recourse a wife might have when he abuses his family.
Your images are fantastic, as always.
And in case you missed it, look who got a nice mention today from @raj808:

@agmoore is one of the oldschool of fiction writers

who has remained stalwart throughout this bear market on steem. I first met her years ago in the @isleofwrite community and later solidified the relationship through mutual feedback on entries in the finish the story competition. Her fiction in particular is concise and homely, while expressing something more than the sum of its parts. Often it engenders a nostalgic feel that draws you in! She also writes very well researched science articles on her second blog, @agmoore2. I highly recommend checking her out!

On a personal note, agmoore's encouragement and insightful comments on my short stories has kept me sane on more than one occasion when comments were thin on the ground. Thank you agmoore.

Ditto that, and thank you @raj808

for your positive outlook, your thoughtfulness, your kind words, and your determination to shun drama!


https://steemit.com/hive-174578/@raj808/who-do-i-follow-on-steem-and-why-a-tale-of-two-halves

Sort:  

This is such a quotable quote, from your comment to @owasco:

Fiction for me is risk-taking, because it's personal. Science and history, well they speak for themselves. Fiction is more a lens into our own psyches.

And what a great insight on public exposure (which is the most I ever hoped I'd get for my sister's killers):

I think Maricia plans the worst punishment for her husband: public exposure. Usually this sort of neglect is private. Nobody acknowledges it. But public shaming....that will do it. Ditto for the cleric.

Hey @carolkean,
If you read my comment to @whatisnew above, you'll see that much of it was taken from life. Not the missing person's part, but the scenes, malfunctioning kerosene heater and cleric. Nobody died, thank heavens.
Of course, I mixed up the scenes. That was great fun (and a lot of work!), to try and create a map of Maricia's psyche. The great thing about writing is that it's better than therapy. We can take events from our lives and mold them, so they work for us.
Thank you for sharing @raj808's post. He was one of my strongest supporters when I had few. No reward in it for him, except to reach out. I remember that.
And thank you most of all for your support and high praise for my efforts. At this stage in my life, creating has become one of my chief outlets, so this is much appreciated.
From fellow writer,
AG :)

I'm saving the upvote for post, where it will count. My VP is anemic.

My VP finally rose to 0.02 this week....
You nail it: The great thing about writing is that it's better than therapy. We can take events from our lives and mold them, so they work for us.
The truth is best told in the guise of fiction - my motto, my manifesto!
I hope someone else didn't come up with the same phrase. -_-

I think it's a great motto. Fiction not only gives us cover, but it also allows us to represent emotional events symbolically... which I think enhancing self-awareness. Also raises the experience to a universal level (for readers).
Art is great for that too. Even better, sometimes. Different parts of the brain give more intuitive expression (I think!)

More quotable quotes from @agmoore2 - I need to do a post on this!!!
Fiction not only gives us cover, but it also allows us to represent emotional events symbolically... which I think enhancing self-awareness. Also raises the experience to a universal level (for readers).

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62601.60
ETH 2452.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64