Almost lost my life

in OCD2 years ago

pexels-essow-1292750.jpg

I was 19 and almost lost my life. Yes it can happen to the most of us at that age, carelessness and not being aware of my surroundings almost took me out of my precious life.

I was in Mumbai city. I was working far away from home since it was my first job right after college and I needed the experience.

The only problem was that it was quite far away from the only affordable house I could find in the buzzing city. So I had to catch two trains to reach the office. Let's note this train thing, you'll get the idea where we are going.

8 months in things were looking pretty good. I was almost reaching the 1 year mark. My plan was to get a years experience and jump into a company where my main career interest lies.

Anyway one day I was heading back home after work. I finished the journey on my first train. As I was waiting on the train station for my second train, I saw my college mate who I was very fond of walking on the other platform. Please note there's train track between. So now comes the most stupid and irresponsible move I've ever done in my life. I attempted to cross the train track without a thought about my own safety.

A bit of detail here, in India most people ( including me at the time) cross the train tracks if there's no train in sight. Yeah it's an ugly practice with deadly consequences and yes I agree I was stupid as I was following the dumb action.

As soon as I prepared myself to take two steps forward to cross the track I felt a painful pull from behind. Someone has caught the collar of my shirt and pulled me back with so much force I was airborne and fell down a few feet behind.

I was in shock for a whole minute. Not just due to the fall, but because just micro seconds later a huge freaking goods train passed before my eyes. If that guy on that platform didn't pull me away or wasn't alert enough to know what I was upto. I'd be a million pieces lying around a train station that day.

I got shouted and adviced by a whole gang of bystanders, fair enough I had to learn my lesson. But that experience was the ultimate lesson for me that no matter how smooth or happy your life goes, be alert, be attentive to things around you. Things can change or stop for you in a second without your focus.

Just to be clear I thanked the Hero who saved me a thousand times once my shock was over.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63318.34
ETH 3108.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97