Testing KRITA for ILLUSTRATION+Kiki's delivery service fan art by Alejandra Her.

in OCD5 years ago

kiki.png

Since I started illustrating, very recently (two years ago or less) I have used adobe photoshop. Surely because it is the most used program in professional illustration, but I also think that it is because those of us who have had to learn on our own find the greatest amount and quality of tutorials in which they use this application, as well as the courses or workshops.

However, today, when I already feel able to use adobe photoshop in a quite fluid way, I have decided to learn to use other platforms to experiment in the processes and results.

This is how I came to Krita.

Krita is a free alternative to photoshop. It is fast, flexible and open source, and it has the many functionalities that we graphic artists need.

One of the advantages of using krita are the tools that are available by default, such as the color wheel. In this way we do not have to install a plug in, as in photoshop.

Here are three of the things that attracted me the most: the possibility of working with native photoshop files, so that you can work with krita without fear of losing your work done on PS; a very familiar interface to which the users of photoshop are used to, however, like any new tool, it is necessary to assign and learn the corresponding shortcuts; and the default templates for creating comics, along with certain brushes that would make life easier for any comic artist.

Captura de pantalla 2020-04-08 a las 10.09.21.png

If you want to learn more about how to make comics in Krita, I recommend you check this link. Here, César Mosquera explain how to make comics using krita, and show examples with images of the book illustrated by him "El pueblo donde mataron a Dios" ("The town where God was killed"). 100% recommended.

Here I share a childish illustration that I did in Krita, something quite basic for some. However, it is a style that I wanted to try, and since it was in a new software it seemed quite appropriate.

I made my hand sketch and then i painted in Krita.

photo_2020-04-07 11.12.41.jpeg

kiki.png

This time I wanted to make something for my girls. One of her favorite movies is Kiki's delivery service. This quarantine have us in Studio Ghibli mode.

I hope you liked this post. Please don't forget to check the links above about Using krita for creating comics, leave a comment and tell me if you have used krita and what do you think about it, or if you would like to use it.



If you like my work, visit my Instagram account

Sort:  

Congratulations @alejandra.her, your post successfully recieved 0.29734088 TRDO from below listed TRENDO callers:

@amico earned : 0.19822725 TRDO curation


To view or trade TRDO go to steem-engine.com
Join TRDO Discord Channel or Join TRDO Web Site

I appreciate your creativity, dear @alejandra.her!
@tipu curate


A huge hug from @amico! 🤗

!trdo

Congratulations @amico, you successfuly trended the post shared by @alejandra.her!
@alejandra.her will receive 0.29734088 TRDO & @amico will get 0.19822725 TRDO curation in 3 Days from Post Created Date!

"Call TRDO, Your Comment Worth Something!"

To view or trade TRDO go to steem-engine.com
Join TRDO Discord Channel or Join TRDO Web Site

Congratulations, your post has been upvoted by @dsc-r2cornell, which is the curating account for @R2cornell's Discord Community.

Curated by @blessed-girl

r2cornell_curation_banner.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62497.97
ETH 2428.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65