COMMON PLACES. Illustration by Alejandra Her

in OCD4 years ago

asian1.jpg

Since I bought my graphic tablet I feel that the quality of my illustrations has radically changed, getting closer and closer to the result I want.

However, it is not only the quality and finish of the illustrations that I want to achieve professionally, but also the backgrounds, and this aspect goes beyond the graphic tools.

It is because of this that I have decided to start drawing the backgrounds of my practice illustrations, and not just commissions. Starting with backgrounds as simple as this one.

Lately I have really enjoyed Studio Ghibli movies. I think I unconsciously drew this Asian woman for it. The landscapes and architecture of animated films simply enchants me in such a way that sometimes I feel like I'm inside the films.

In this illustration, the woman is waiting for someone in a place close to the sea. Here, in my country, you can see these benches in a boulevard in front of the beach, I think that there are this kind of places in all beaches of the world. That is why I decided to draw it, because is a common place, a place that almost everybody knows, where we all have been. So there she is, waiting for someone that is not going to come. Maybe she is not actually waiting the person, but the absence.

Here I share my process.

I made this sketch digitally using adobe Photoshop. She had a very fun hair, But then I changed it because I wanted her to look more traditional.
asian9.jpg

I set the skin color and start painting some details.
asian8.jpg

More and more details. The lines are in another layer, so I painted using the lines as a guide, and then I painted the lines.
asian7.jpg
It is important to paint de shadows in the face, especially because it gives it depth. I first paint and then I mix colors with the mixing brush. What I like the most about this brushes is that you can choose any brush you want to, so you can have tons of different effects by only changing the brush.
asian6.jpg
Here, I just outlined the eyes and the iris. I think it is important to outline that the "white part" of the eye is not pure white, it is like a blueish gray in this case, but that blue tone may change in any color depending the temperture of the light of your illustration.
asian5.jpg

I painted the eyes with a honey tone, I want them to be expressive.
asian4.jpg

Here, I took the decision to make her hair with a kind of traditional hair bun. I like drawing my characters hair with flat color. I also painted her clothes with a green tone.
asian-2.jpg

I finally set the background. Initially I wanted her to be looking through a window. But then I decided to make her sat in a bench, outside.

asian1.jpg

banda.jpg



If you like my work, visit my Instagram account

Sort:  

I really like the style and how you managed to make the face. Its very beautiful on all eyes.
I really like it congratulations. Great job! 😊

I appreciate your creativity, dear @alejandra.her!
@tipu curate


A huge hug from @amico! 🤗

!trdo

Congratulations @amico, you successfuly trended the post shared by @alejandra.her!
@alejandra.her will receive 0.29363513 TRDO & @amico will get 0.19575675 TRDO curation in 3 Days from Post Created Date!

"Call TRDO, Your Comment Worth Something!"

To view or trade TRDO go to steem-engine.com
Join TRDO Discord Channel or Join TRDO Web Site

Congratulations, your post has been upvoted by @dsc-r2cornell, which is the curating account for @R2cornell's Discord Community.

Curated by @blessed-girl

r2cornell_curation_banner.png

I like the expression of solitude through the honey tone of her eyes. Congratulations.

Congratulations @alejandra.her, your post successfully recieved 0.29363513 TRDO from below listed TRENDO callers:

@amico earned : 0.19575675 TRDO curation


To view or trade TRDO go to steem-engine.com
Join TRDO Discord Channel or Join TRDO Web Site

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58613.96
ETH 3153.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43