Favourite seafood - Karimeen polichatu | Kerala dish | June contest series - surprise steem | steemship community

in Writing & Reviews3 years ago

Hello steemians,

This is my entry for the contest June contest series organised by @shohana1

Link to the contest:

June Contest Series SteemSurprise | Write About Your Favorite SeaFood Or Fish | #PromoSteem Contest | 25 STEEM REWARD

For this contest I'm going share about a seafood/fish which is mostly seen in Kerala and the speciality of the dish.

images (40).jpeg
source

Kerala is not just known for it's beautiful backwaters and tourism but also for its tasty fishes from the backwaters. Malayali cuisine is full of fishes but nothing can beat the Karimeen polichatu.Karimeen polichatu is one of the most famous food items coming straight from the Kerala. There are many ways to prepare this dish but the most authentic way involves the use of banana leaves. You can think how could a banana leaf fit with fish fry, even thought like this the first time, I have seen using banana leaves for serving food in many occasions and many people in South India use banana leaves to serve food in festival and many special occasions like marriage but it was the first time I saw using it for frying fish . Fish will be marinated with rich blend of spices and fried with fish wrapped inside a green banana leaf. The end result is a dish so delicious and soft with spicy juices.

images (41).jpeg
source
I got to taste this dish while visiting my brother's family in Kerala and that's the day I tasted the finest fish fry of my life. I don't how to express my love towards the dish.Eventhough that variety of fishes are not found in my native place, I ask my mom to fry the fishes in the same procedure with banana .That way of frying is enough to enhance the taste of the fish. Unfortunately I don't have the photos of me and my mom making this dish, so I shared images of it from Google. I ask everyone reading this post to search about the recipe in Google and try out this the next time you are making a fish based dish. Other than this dish, there's a lot of seafoods I like but I decided to make this post on this Karimeen polichatu because that's my all time favourite.
I invite @gokulkarthik @alsarzilsiam @cindycam to take part and support this contest.

Thanks @shohana1 for organising this contest and special thanks to sir Stephenkendal for sponsoring this contest.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65133.17
ETH 3480.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52