Contest Cum Writing Invitation : Writing Is An Art | Phase 4 || story Title : "The successor" by @luckydrums || 10% to @hive-173434

in Writing & Reviews2 years ago


king-1304612_1280.jpgsource

Things had just fallen apart in the palace as the old king was diagnosed of cancer, the doctors said he had less than 5 years to live. His case was not really critical because he had detected the cancer early and he began treating it immediately. The king was quite worried, not because of the cancer though,but because he didn't have a successor. He had been blessed with everything but children. He was really concerned about the fate of his kingdom after he had left.
He wanted to put the kingdom in order before he leaves the earth, he wanted a king wiser than himself, one that could tackle all the issues he couldn't, one of which is peace amongst his kingdom people.


Screenshot_20220324-100734.pngsource

Although the king had the greatest military in the region, his kingdom lacked peace and love for each other and because of that their growth was slow, other kingdom was rapidly developing but his own wasn't. The main issue he had was tribal , racial and religious discrimination and intolerance, he had tried to reduce the effects as much as he could but this time he wanted a permanent solution, one that could work, something that was holistic and would solve the problem from the roots.

The king made an announcement to the people of the kingdom, he asked that anyone who could bring a good and workable solution to the problems of the kingdom would be made the new King, he gave everyone about three months to go think about it and come with a solution.


Screenshot_20220324-101207.pngsource

Everyone was excited and went to work immediately, this was a chance to become the number one man in the kingdom, a Chance to rewrite history and destiny. When I heard about the announcement, I was happy the king made such a call, it means he knew that things had gone bad in the kingdom and he was keen on fixing it. I didn't bother thinking of a solution myself because I felt the wise men of the community would definitely have a better solution. I just went on with my daily activities, still praying that a good leader be chosen.

When the day came for people to come talk about how they would make better the kingdom, I went to the palace to witness the event, different people had different things to say, one talked about how he would kill anyone found discriminating, another send he would barnish the person from the kingdom and many other violent things.

The king wasn't pleased at all with these suggestions , he knew they wouldn't bring an end to these problems, he had tried similar approaches but it was futile . He was now sad, he then asked " my people , so no one has a solution to these problems ?, Are we going to continue like this ?? ". Everyone was now calm. He then said " I am giving another opportunity, someone should please help us with a solution".

A man then came who claimed he had the perfect solution, I managed to trudge through the crowd to the front so I can hear him clearly. He then said since the major issues were tribal and racial discrimination,he would divide the kingdom into smaller regions according to their racial and tribal differences. I didn't know when I shouted " No !!,never!!, We can't divide our kingdom, United we stand and divided we fall". The king was impressed, he didn't like the idea of division either , he then asked that I be brought forward.


human-740259_1280.jpgsource

He then asked me the question " If you're made king , what would you do to make this kingdom better ?". I spoke what I felt could help not minding if he would like it . I told him "Education" , I told him I would educate the people and try to enlighten their minds, make them know we need to love each other, make them know we are all humans and we need each other to grow, I will make them understand that we need peace to succeed and fights would take us no where, I know if I did this persistently, gradually the needed change would come. When I looked at his face he looked pleased, he declared that a party be started because he had found his successor. The end.


Screenshot_20220324-161903.pngsource


Special thanks to every steemian out there I hope you enjoyed the story and understood that war is not the answer but we enlightenment and an educated mind, we will live in peace and harmony, special thanks to this Community @steemship and @hive-173434, and also to @shohana1. I really appreciate you all. To support this community I have given 10% of the payout of this post to the community @hive-173434. Thanks once again. War is not the solution #saynotowar .

I am also inviting some @sokabomb, @amaka06 ,@awesononso , @zekea and @vokey

Sort:  
 2 years ago 

Thanks for your efforts for this contest. Good luck!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59207.83
ETH 2464.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43