Sort:  

Good. I hope to have solar power someday. I use Ubuntu. We have a garden here. We filter and distill our water.

Here, the most probable power outages are due to snow storms. Solar is not a solution in a blizzard. But your mileage may vary. Portable generators and a 5 gallon gas can are the usual solutions in my neighborhood.

Why not use solar to charge up giant batteries, generators, etc? And then have a warehouse to store the generators, batteries, etc. And spend your time charging the batteries via solar panels whenever there is sun but rely on the batteries when there is no sun. I would try to increase my power options, the more the better. Solar power. Wind power. Water power. Gas power. The grid. Etc.

Because the site where I live is not ideal for solar or wind, batteries don't handle cold well, and I don't have interior space for a battery bank. Not all solutions suit every circumstance.

Can batteries be better contained if they're underground? There has to be a way to keep batteries warmer or to simply redesign how batteries work. Too often, people are exposed to lazy technology, AKA cheap.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65969.85
ETH 3429.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68