ACHIEVEMENT 2- BASIC SECURITY OF STEEMIT ACCOUNT

in Newcomers' Community3 years ago (edited)

Hello guys,
I am once again very excited to share with you what I know about the basic security of steemit account and how to safeguard your actions.
0BE8642D-DC62-4217-9356-E38761F2FD2F.jpeg(source)(https://images.app.goo.gl/rCw2KdD1B8RCgcDU8)

To start with;

  1. HAVE YOU RETRIEVED ALL KEYS ON STEEM?
    First of all as you set up an account you reach a point where you have to download a document with all the keys to manage your account. You are required to store this document in a place of your reach where only you can see it for protection of your steem account.
    Therefore, I personally downloaded my keys and stored my document on my account and email, there they should be safe.

  2. DO YOU KNOW EACH OF THESE KEY FUNCTIONS AND RESTRICTIONS?
    Yes, I know and this shared as seen below,

I) POSTING KEY
This is used for daily posting and commenting, resteem posts and upvoting, all we need is just the posting key to do all that.

II) ACTIVE KEY
This is used for important purpose such as transactions, powerup, power down and if one wants to change their profile. The active key is there to help.

III) OWNER KEY
This owner key is used for changing all the other keys. One can make changes using the owner key.

IV) MASTER PASSWORD
The Master Password changes all the keys including the owner key

  1. HOW DO YOU PLAN TO KEEP YOUR MASTER PASSWORD?
    Now knowing that if I lost my master password I won’t be able to access my account, I decided to have three different places to keep my password just Incase I lose one. These are, cloud, offline storage, email and on a hard paper that I later printed out, especially the master password.
    This is because it is like the heart of my steemit account.
    Incase of malpractice to my account, it can help to generate new keys.

  2. TRANSFERRING YOUR STEEM TOKEN TO ANOTHER STEEM USER ACCOUNT
    Yes I know, one will need to log into their steemit account, open the steem transfer interface and then you will be required to input the username of the account receiving and amount of steem. The next part will require the memo key and after command the transfer.

After signing to your account using the posting key, you click steem and then click transfer.
You insert the person you’re transferring too, you can put the reason and then click on next.
After that you can finish the process by clicking Oky.
A235CC54-A754-4D44-8645-22E99B0959AF.png

  1. DO YOU KNOW HOW TO POWERUP YOUR STEEM?
    Yes, I know, here you you first login in your wallet
    click the down arrow next to steem in wallet and select the option power up.
    Then follow the steps by filling the various information needed.

Finally you click on powerup and you will have powered up.
B4318DAC-AE98-4727-8646-A288470BB408.png

Thank you so much, am glad to have shared the little knowledge that I know about the basic security of steemit account.
May God bless you

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

Hi, @yvhonne21,

Your post has been supported by @adeljose from the Steem Greeter Team.

 3 years ago 

Thank you so much I’m very humbled

Please attach screenshots of the process in both these question.

Question 4
Do you know how to transfer your steem token to another steem user account?

Question 5
Do you know how to power up your STEEM?

 3 years ago 

Hey dear am done inserting screenshots

Thanks for making that correction.

Your achievement 2 has now been verified.

Curator note: 3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63537.51
ETH 3405.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55