Re-Introduction post to Steemit//Mentorship by @yhudy2

in Newcomers' Community8 months ago

Hello dear steemians. It’s a pleasure to get back on the platform again. I was unable to post for days because I lost my keys. My previous account, @yhudy, is not accessible at the moment. I had tried posting a few days ago, and I realised something fishy.

IMG_20231111_150401_172~2.jpg
When I know I'm coming back

It had been a while I posted here since school resumed. And so, after some weeks, I had some time to myself which I prepared to write here. On making two posts and sourcing for the pictures and everything, I realised each time I wanted to post it, I was told that I was about sharing my keys with the public, which could be threatening to my account.

As soon as possible, I reached out to @patjewell to ask if I had done anything wrong. she responded immediately that I contact @josepha which I did, and from there began the process to secure my account. @josepha took his time to guide me on how to go through the process of changing my password. He had suspected that my account was about getting hacked, and suggested that I changed my keys immediately.

Screenshot_20231115-181004~2.png
The message that popped

Since I had never changed my keys, it was a bit difficult for me to follow the process. But I did. This was out of ignorance, though. I was meant to download the new keys after changing my passwords, but I failed to do that.

After we found out about this, I became even more anxious. I kept trying with the help of @josepha throughout the night, but nothing productive happened. I remember putting @josepha through so much stress, and I even slept off in the process, only to see his messages the next morning that he couldn’t get access to my account.

I didn’t give up so soon. I’m not known for that. The next morning, I continued. I texted @josepha again, this time, I was fuming with anger for reasons I can’t say exactly. The fear of losing what I had spent months building, and how it was about to vanish into the air now? I couldn’t believe it. I was actually saving that money for something very special to me, and this came up now?

The thoughts in my head kept flying in and out. Voices echoed on my struggles here as futile, and a waste of time. I got to my laptop that morning and began to go places. I was able to log into my account, but not granted access to it. Then I began to tap on the keyboard with nowhere exactly in mind to go to.

Then I a saw a PDF of keys, but I ignored it. After an hour or two wandering around the whole system, I began to close the tabs that were almost countless on my screen. Then I got the the PDF tab again. I decided to look at it, then I reluctantly downloaded the keys thinking it was the previous one.

Screenshot_20231115-191001~2.png
The process of changing passwords

After downloading, I asked myself if those keys were really needed now. Then I tried using the posting key, boom! I was in. I didn’t believe it. So I went to my wallet and used the key to see if it was real. Guess what? I was able to access my wallet. Immediately, I called @josepha to confirm what I was seeing, and he did. Again, I wanted to change the keys, but I all got twisted here.

After changing the keys, I didn’t copy the master key to a safe place. To cut the long story short here, my account is still under some sort of assistance to be recovered. I can’t fail to thank @bossj23 whom I also contacted for help.

@ngoenyi kept checking up to know how the process was going. She even went as far as sending me tips of help. Same with @patjewell who did all she could to give me the needed assistance. And for my number one friend,@coolj2, she literally took hours to stay with me on the computer to recover my account.

These and other people I can’t mention now all played vital roles in trying to recover my old account, @yhudy.

Lessons learnt

It is advisable to keep one’s keys very very very safe. If you can, change your keys from time to time(maybe once in a year) to avoid funny operations with your account. No one should have access to your keys, but you.

If you can, back up your keys with Goggle, or go through the stress of writing them down, like @coolj2 would always advise me.

@josepha made an article on this, which I’d like you to read using this link.
I’m back on the platform and I’d like to have my old and new friends back and coming.

Thanks for reading through.

Would like to mention @hudamalik20, @bela90, @sur-riti, @shahid76, @saintkelvin17, @adunni, @mehwish-almas, @sbamsoneu, @ajegena, @ukpono to read this.

Special Mention

@ngoenyi
@patjewll
@josepha
@bossj23
@goodybest

Sort:  
Loading...

Thank you for publishing your post a warm welcome from @ crowd1, thank you for your delightful and lovely article, you have good writing skills✍️. Join our vibrant steemit community for engaging discussions, valuable insights, and exciting contests! Connect with fellow steemians and unlock endless possibilities. Let's grow together! JoinOurCommunity
-tkzrhm.jpg
Crowd1 booster community
Happy writing and good fortune🤝

I've subscribed.
Thank you so much.

Oh my God alot of things happened to you , I am so scared after reading this post , I was mentioning you in my post and I was thinking you didn't responded maybe you are busy but after reading this incident. You are a brave girl and Stay strong dear .Wish you alot of success.

Thank you so much dear.
I'll try my best.

 7 months ago 

You're Verified and I believe you've kept the keys to This account safely, because at least you've learnt a lesson.

Thank you.
Where do I start from now? I mean the next achievement post to make, please.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60122.55
ETH 3199.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43