Achievement 2 @unstoppable11 Task : Basic Security on Steem

in Newcomers' Community3 years ago (edited)

A pleasant greetings to everyone!
I am here again for my Achievement 2 Task that will be focusing about Basic Security on Steem.


CollageMaker_20211202_191300677.jpg

After reading the informations provided about the different keys purposes on Steem and the safety and security that I must know, I will now answer the given questions and apply my knowledge on the other task thats given as an additional task to make in completing this achievement 2 task.

Question 1
Have you retrieve all your keys on Steemit?

Yes, I have retrieved all my keys on Steemit since after signing up in making an account, there is a reminder to keep the different keys for they are very important and the only access we have in our Steemit account. Also the rule, "do not lose your password", which is being repeated is a constant reminder to new users and old users at the same time.


Question 2
Do you know each of these key functions and restrictions?

Yes I do know each of the given key functions and restrictions.

  • Private Posting Key
    - this key is used for logging in on Steemit.com, be it to apps or in web. It grants us access in performing social actions like posting our diary game, commenting our fellow steemians post and also voting post for supporting others work.
  • Private Active Key
    - this key is used for money or wallet related transactions like when we do powering up our STEEM, converting SBD into STEEM and transferring some of our tokens to other user accounts, savings or to other wallets.
  • Private Memo Key
    - this key is used to decipher those private transfer memos.
  • Private Owner Key
    - this key is used to set again or differently all the other keys and could grant the owner to recover his/her hacked or lost account. It is advised to remain it inactive all the time to not compromised our account.

Question 3
How do you plan to keep your master password?

  • Master Password
    - this key is known to be the most important since it has access to all the keys we need in our Steemit account.
    I did think wisely in keeping my master password through different back-ups I have like a hidden notebook where I wrote it thats safe and secured and in other safe storage I have in my phone.

Question 4
Do you know how to transfer your steem token to another steem user account?

Yes I do know how to transfer my steem token to another steem user account and I will show some screenshots below upon trying it.

Screenshot_20211202_192829.jpg
I log-in first in my Steemit wallet providing my username and the key for wallet related transactions.

CollageMaker_20211204_133207131.jpg
Click the drop down and click the "transfer" option.

CollageMaker_20211204_133501662.jpg
A menu box appeared then just simply fill in the "To", the username of whom you are transferring the STEEM and the amount you want to transfer and click next to continue.

CollageMaker_20211204_133718369.jpg
Lastly, click "Ok" to confirm the transaction and the transaction will appear in history if the transaction have been done and successful. My transaction has error since I don't have balance to transfer.


Question 5
Do you know how to power up your STEEM?

Yes I know how to power up my STEEM and will show you below.

CollageMaker_20211202_215931326.jpg
I first log-in to my Steemit wallet providing my username and key for wallet related transactions then click log-in to proceed.

CollageMaker_20211202_220331559.jpg
Next, is to go to STEEM which a token needed in powering up. I click the drop down where we can see the "power up" option for us to do power up.

CollageMaker_20211202_220549446.jpg
After clicking the power up option, this menu box will appear and all we need to do is to fill up the boxes. I entered the amount first then click the "Power up" to continue.

CollageMaker_20211202_220734699.jpg
Another menu box will appear and I did click "Ok" to confirm transfer to vesting.

CollageMaker_20211202_220817574.jpg
We can check the transaction in history and transfer complete. I successfully power up 0.001 STEEM.


That's it for today and I just want to give thanks to @lealtafaith for giving me tips on how to do it and to @cryptokannon for the guides provided to us newcomers that help us learn and apply and on how everything works and also for the Steemit team greeters and sir @juichi thats always active in guiding us where to next.


Thank you everyone and God bless!

Kind regards,
@unstoppable11

Achievement 1

Sort:  

This achievement is very important in our Steemit journey. You needed to understand clearly the different important keys and their functions in the Steemit wallet. Be sure to store your keys safely. For the latest updates and important announcements, don't forget to follow @steemitblog and visit the Steemit Crypto Academy for you to learn about cryptocurrency.

You have been verified for this task and you may now proceed to Achievement 3: Content Etiquette at your convenience. Please refer to the guide on the Newcomers Achievement Program on the Notice Board pinned post.

 3 years ago 

Thank you very much sir @juichi and I will do secure my keys safely and will continue in learning how it works 😊 again thank you for your guide

 3 years ago 

Hi, @unstoppable11,

Your post has been supported by the the Steem Greeter Team.

 3 years ago 

Thank you so much sir and to Steem Greeter Team😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66086.05
ETH 3299.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70