Security Tips on Steem

in Newcomers' Community3 years ago (edited)

A new steemian on steemit, it is pertinent to know and get acquainted with the different keys, private and public keys pairs that are used by every steemian for security reason. Keys are series of codes that enable you have access to your document or file in the system.

These keys can be passwords that contain series of authorized codes generated by the sytem or the user. It is crucial that every steemian store their keys where they can easily retrieve them.

The hardcopy can be stored in your private file and soft copy stores in your hidden folder of your laptop or phone. Let us consider these questions concerning these important keys and their functions.

Question 1
Have you retrieve all your keys on steemit?
Yes, I have retieved all my keys on steemit, printed the hardcopy and stored them offline in my external disc.

Question2
Do you know each of these key functions and restrictions?
Yes, I have studied and known all key functions to be able to use them judiciously and wisely on Steemit.com. They are:

  1. The posting key: I use this key to post and edit my writings, vote for steemians works, resteem steemians posting by sharing of content you find interesting to your followers or in other communities without claiming as my post.

  2. The active key: I use this to confirm transaction or change my settings and convert Steem Dollars, voting for witnesses, updating my profile details and avatar, and placing a market order.

  3. Memo Key: This key enables me to handle private messages and perform encrypted transaction. For example, I use it to transfer my funds, withdraw, and make an order

  4. Owner Key: This key is not directly visible on steemit.com, you can obtain it from the master key. With this key, I can change all the other keys, my account can be hacked by another steemian or person. IF I lost this key consistently, my operations can be restricted.

  5. The Master Key: I can use this key to obtain all keys, private and public keys. Using a hash (#) function, I can get private and public keys from the master key. Don’t use master key to log into steemit platform and don’t copy it into your post or transaction memos.

Question 3
How do you plan to keep your master password?
I have printed my master keys and kept both offline (external disc, flash drive, stored the hard copy in my steemit files for quick remembrance).

Question 4
Do you know how to transfer your steem token to another steem user account
Yes, I know how to transfer your steem token to another steem user account by going to my wallet and down the arrow by STEEM dollars and click “transfor” and that’s all.

Question 5
Do you know how to power up your STEEM?
I can convert my STEEM token to STEEM power using the POWER UP function. I will just go to my wallet and look for my STEEM dorlas and click on the little triangle (arrow) next to the STEEM dorlas to open the menu and click “market”, next in the 'BUY STEEM' section enter the amount of Steem Dollars you want to exchange for STEEM. After that return to your wallet and once the order is complete you will see the balance of Steem appear. I will click the little triangle and in the menu click "power up"

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

Your post is really good in steemit platform.

I appreciate your great work✅

Hey I am Founder Of :
Open The World Community.

So I invite you to my community because you make awesome post in steemit I will support your post in our community so come here & make post as you like anything.

Hey my dear friend, how are you, I hope you're fine & you need more vote & money in steemit if you need " we have a new community name Open The World.

If you need more vote please come our community & make post (photography,The dairy game,Movie review, Science,Daily life, Story & if you like anything)

The steemit team said us that if we have active user then they will give us community or booming Support, so if you Wanna booming support then please come to our community & subscribe this community,vote and post here..you will get booming support within e very short time.

& We will try to give vote every quality post in this community, So I hope you will check our new community.

This community is open to all Steemian ❤️

Subscribe Click this link below :

https://steemit.com/trending/hive-151614

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66552.34
ETH 3451.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65