Achievement 4 by @uche4god task: "Applying Markdown"

in Newcomers' Community3 years ago

Good day everyone. This is my achievement 4 post, and it is all about applying markdown. To show that I have understood how to apply markdown, I will be writing about African breadfruit known as ukwa in my native land. This food is common among the eastern people of Nigeria. So I will be writing the procedures of how to prepare it from scratch.

STEPS IN BRINGING OUT THE FRUIT

These are the procedures I went through to cook my ukwa. I bought my ukwa from the village market. The chaff has not been removed at all as you can see from the picture.

IMG_20210522_092028.jpg

Firstly, I washed it and put in a pot for per boiling so it could be easy to remove the chaff. So i put it in a pot, add enough water to cover the ukwa, cover the pot and place it on top of my gas cooker to perboil.

When it starts to boil, I bring it down and pour it into a big sieve then pour enough cold water on it to cool the heat so that the inside will not change color.

After that, I brought it out and fixed my manual grinder then poured the ukwa inside the grinder but I make sure it doesn't tight well to enable the chaff to come out. As you can also see in the picture.

IMG_20210522_100813.jpg

When am done with the grinding, I went and spread it outside to dry small so that I can easily remove the chaff.

IMG_20210522_102658.jpg

IMG_20210522_152223.jpg

Step 3

After removing the chaff, the ukwa is now ready to be cooked. After removing the chaff, I got 8 cups and small portion left.

THE INGREDIENTS FOR COOKING

  1. Ukwa 8 cups
  2. 2 fresh pepper
  3. Ogiri
  4. A cube of maggi
  5. Red oil (150ml)
  6. Salt to taste.
  7. Potash or Ngu ( I prefer to use Ngu).
  8. Fresh leaves of bitter leaf (optional ).

You can use maize to cook it if you like but I didn't use maize.

HOW TO PREPARE

  • First, i wash the ukwa seed thoroughly in a bowl with lots of water to remove all the dirts.

IMG_20210522_160610.jpg

  • Put in a pot and add enough water to cover the ukwa. The level of water should be about 1 inch above the level of the ukwa. Cover the pot.

IMG_20210522_161513.jpg

  • When it starts boiling, I dissolve my ngu in water, filter in the clean water and add to the boiling ukwa. Ngu is the ash gotten from the burning of palm fronds. Ngu helps the ukwa to soften fast and also brings out the taste of the ukwa water then add 6 to 10 leaves of bitter leaf to it ( optional)
  • I cooked the ukwa until it gets soft for consumption

IMG_20210522_170158.jpg

  • When it's done, I separated the seed from the water, pound my pepper, add palm oil, 1 cube of maggi, 1 wrap of ogiri and a pinch of salt , add everything to the ukwa and stir very well using my wooden spoon. Taste for salt and my ukwa delicacy is ready. I usually Serve the two together.

IMG_20210522_174239.jpg

For me I like eating and drinking my ukwa water at the same time as you can see in the picture.

IMG_20210522_175532.jpg

BENEFITS OF UKWA

African breadfruit (ukwa) has some benefits.

  1. It contains high amount of omega 3 and omega 6 fatty acid which are vital for proper development of mind and body.
  2. It is a source of energy
  3. It has some amount of vitamins in it.
  4. It's high in carbohydrates, low in fat and chorestorol.

This is all I have for you guys. Thank you all for reading my post.

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

Congratulations ... This achievement has been verified. Please continue the next achievement 5 Task 1 about Steemworld.org

Rate : 2

cropped_image.png

 3 years ago 

Thank you

 3 years ago 

Hi, @uche4god,

Your post has been supported by @tarpan from the Steem Greeter Team.

 3 years ago 

Thank you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59201.08
ETH 2515.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50