Achievement 2 @truesnapa .Task: Basic security on steem

in Newcomers' Community3 years ago (edited)

Hello steem world, I hope everyone is doing great!

My name is Mandela Ntangmu, and I wish to share with you my understanding of steem's security and how you can keep your account safe.

*Have you Retrieve , all your steemit keys?
yes I have

IMG_20210115_083320_453.jpg

These keys are very important because, they are needed to perform various operations on steemit.So I have taken extra measures, to keep them safe and so should you.I have learned alot from my mentor @saxopedia who introduced me to this wonderful platform.He made me understand that without these keys I will not be able to operate effectively on this platform.
Because of the value of this keys I have stored them in multiple locations like in my Google drive, my email and other social media platforms and in a secure book. I also make sure all my devices have a secure password just to provide and extra layer of security.

*Below are the various keys that we have on steemit and thier uses.
-Master key
-posting key
-Active key
-Owner key
-Memo key
Each of these keys serve a different purpose.

IMG_20210115_083637_116.jpg

The master key like it's name suggest is capable of recovering all the other keys.If your master key is lost,you will not be able to recover your account.
The owner key is capable of changing all other key.
The posting key for submitting posts, for claiming rewards and for voting.
The active key is used for currency transfer.
The memo key is used to read and create memos. it has no use presently.

*Do you know how to transfer your steem token to another user account?
yes I do.I am so grateful to @kiwiscanfly for explaining how it is being done.

*Do you kn how to power up your steem?.
Thanks to @saxopedia I now understand that with more steem power I we can do task like posting and commenting, and we have more steem power when we power up. Again I am so grateful to @kiwiscanfly for his article on Understanding your steemit wallet, and @cryptokannon for taking me through the keys and their functions.A million thanks

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

You have been upvoted by @yohan2on, a member of the SteemPOD project and we are curating using the Steemcurator03 curator account to support newcomers in the minnow support program.

Thanks for attempting achievement task 2-basic security. You can proceed to other achievement tasks.

Follow @steemitblog for updates on steemit.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64534.17
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01