Achievement 2 @tripplemspecial ||Basic security on Steemit|| mentorship by

in Newcomers' Community3 years ago

IMG_20211124_144711.jpg

My understanding of Basic security on steem is referred to how i can protect my wallet as a newbies so that my account will be safe and free from hackers. I understand that my wallet address should be keep free from hackers.

HAVE YOU RETRIEVED ALL YOUR KEYS ON STEEMIT?

Yes I have done that, I did this using my master password which i was provided when I signed up , I went to my steemit.com wallet and retrieved all my keys.

DO YOU KNOW EACH OF THESE KEY FUNCTIONS AND RESTRICTIONS

VERY WELL ,I DO

Below is a summary of their functions:

Master password :::: Master password is the password you get upon signing up and is used to generate all other keys. After that, it is stored in a safe place and should only be used when you are going through your account recovery. It should be keep safe

Posting key - Posting key is used to sign in or login to my steemit account to enable me write a post , comment, edit, comment, upvote, and resteeming content, following people and muting accounts.

ACTIVE KEY:::: This key is used in transferring tokens, powering steem up or down, converting steem dollars, voting for witnesses, placing an order or an exchange, editing profile and publishing a witness price feed.

OWNER KEY - Owner key is used in resetting all the keys including Owner key, Posting key and Active key; recovering of account, decline voting rights. It is known as the most powerful key.

Memo key - Memo key is used in sending and viewing encrypted message.

HOW DO YOU PLAN TO KEEP YOUR MASTER PASSWORD

I plan keep the master password save by storing an offline copy in a digital offline storage such as a flash drive or write them down on my note, keeping it safe away from people view so that my token cannot escape without my knowledge and I've done that already.

DO YOU KNOW HOW TO TRANSFER YOUR STEEM TOKEN TO ANOTHER STEEM USER ACCOUNT?

Yes I know

Below are the steps to do that.

  • I login to my steem account using my posting key

  • Click on wallet

  • Sign in to your wallet using your username and active key and

  • Upon logging in, click on the drop down arrow
    close to steem and select transfer.

See image below

IMG_20211124_142348.jpg

IMG_20211124_142422.jpg

  • Type in the username of the account user you
    are transferring to

  • Type in the amount and click next

Click on Next to confirm the transaction.

DO YOU KNOW HOW TO POWER UP YOUR STEEM?

YES

Power up is a process where by steem can be converted to steem power, and save up for upvoting other people post.

Steps are as follow;

IMG_20211124_142515.jpg
My wallet before power up

  • click on the drop down arrow close
    to steem,

  • Select power up;

  • Type in the amount in the box provided

Click power up.

See image below;

IMG_20211124_142614.jpg

IMG_20211124_142705.jpg

IMG_20211124_142818.jpg

IMG_20211124_142852.jpg

I'm grateful to @eliany for mentorship

Cc;

@ngoenyi
@cryptokannon

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

Congratulations on your completion on achievement task 2 it really shows you know how to preserve your keys

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58986.04
ETH 2580.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53