Achievement 2 @the-patriarch Task : Basic Security on Steem

in Newcomers' Community3 years ago (edited)

THE ESSENCE OF KEYS

A very little key will open
a very heavy door.
--Charles Dickens.

Keys are very important in Steemit just as air is important to life. As a matter of fact, I think Steemit keys are the most valuable treasures in steemit that needs to be discovered, then guarded and protected at all cost. Having the above understanding, I have retrieved all my Keys on Steemit and not just that I will diligently and carefully guard and protect my keys.

golden-key-keyhole-600w-108963875.webp
Image Source

Having your keys without understanding how, when and where to use them is very very risky and could expose you to a lot of dangers. For me I have taken out my time to learn, understand and fully integrate how to use my keys and the restrictions for each of these keys, for my fellow beginners you can find this information very useful:

  1. Posting Key:
    This key gives you access to post, comment, edit, vote, resteem, and follow or mute other accounts on steemit. This should be your everyday login key on steemit, so you can see this key as the key to your front door in Steemit.

  2. Active Key:
    This key allows you to carry out more sensitive task such as transferring of funds, power up/down process, conversion of steem dollars, voting for witnesses, updating profile details and avatar and also placing of market order.
    This key could be seen as the key to your inner chamber on Steemit.

  3. Memo key:
    This key is used for encrypting or decrypting memos sent during funds transfer.

  4. Owner key:
    This is a very powerful key in fact it is the most powerful key only to be used when necessary, it can change every other key including itself. This key should be stored offline and used only when trying to recover a compromised account.

  5. Master key (also known as Master Password):
    This to me is not a key, rather it is the key creator as it is used to generate every other key including the Owner key, hence one should only be using it when you are going through an account recovery process. I will advice my fellow newcomers on steemit to guard and protect this Key with all your life.

One might ask how do I plan to keep my Master password?
Because of the importance of this password, you do not need to plan it rather you need to take actions, as for me I have copied my password on a plain sheet of paper, put it in a file and safely locked it away in my safe offline, that is how important it is to me.

It is also important to note that from time to time, one may have to carry out certain transactions on Steemit, and one of such transactions is to transfer steem to another steem user account.

To transfer Steem to another user, use the steps outlined below:

  1. Go to your Steemit Wallet
  2. Click on the drop down arrow next to the number of steem tokens in your wallet.
  3. Scroll down and select transfer.
  4. Enter the Steem user account name you wish to transfer to
  5. Enter the amount/number of tokens you wish to transfer.
  6. Enter memo if desired, then click next and wait patiently.
  7. A confirmation screen pops up, enter memo if desired on the confirmation screen then click okay to confirm and your transaction is done.

Another important transaction on the Steemit platform is the Power up process and below is an easy guide on how to power up:

  1. Go to your Steemit Wallet
  2. Click on the drop down arrow next to the number of steem tokens in your wallet.
  3. Scroll down and select power up.
  4. Input the amount of steem you wish to power up.
  5. Click on power up, and your deal is done.

Once again I want to remind my fellow new comers that their keys are very important and should be kept safe.
On no account and under no circumstances should you share any of you keys with anyone or upload a picture of any of your keys.

I want to specially appreciate @kiwiscanfly I read her post and it was a great guide, I also appreciate @cryptokannon her works have also been very helpful.

Cc:
@steemcurator01
@steemcurator02
@steemcurator03
@trafalgar
@cryptokannon
@cmp2020
@kiwiscanfly

Special appreciation to you guys, as I explore this platform more, I hope to meet many more wonderful people.

In case you have not seen my achievement1 post, here is a link to that:
https://steemit.com/hive-172186/@the-patriarch/hi-steemians-permit-me-to-inroduce-myself

Thanks

Thanks for having

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56588.25
ETH 2399.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32