Achievement 2 task by @tekniz: Basic Key Security On Steemit

in Newcomers' Community3 years ago

Hello steemians, today I want to write about the various keys on steemit, how to transfer token to another steem user account and how to power up.

Here is how to transfer steem token to another steem user account and I will be showing it below.

I logged in to my wallet, sign in with my active key and clicked on steem dollars drop down arrow.
I clicked on transfer

Screenshot_20210328-153200.png

I then input the user name of the person I want to transfer to.
Lastly I created a memo, submit and confirm with my active key.

Screenshot_20210328-153228.png

How To Power Up
I login to my wallet and sign in with my active key
I clicked on STEEM arrow drop down
I clicked on power drop

Screenshot_20210328-153200.png

I input the amount I want and then clicked on power up to confirm.

Screenshot_20210328-153912.png

DIFFERENCES TYPES OF KEYS AND THEIR FUNCTIONS

MASTER PASSWORD:
The master password is the password given to you during your signing up which should be kept safe as it can be used to access an account and it is used to generate other keys.

OWNERS KEY:
The owners key is only needed when necessary, and it is the strongest key because it can change any key of an account. It is used to recover a compromised account.

ACTIVE KEY:
The active key is for transferring funds, power up/down transaction, converting steem dollars, voting for witnesses, updating profile details and placing a market order.

POSTING KEY:
The posting key allows accounts to post, comment, edit, vote, resteem and follow or mute other accounts.

MEMO:
The memo key is used for encrypting and decrypting memos when transferring funds. And in order to encrypt a memo, use the pound/#sign before it.

This keys are all important so it is a must that you keep all this keys safe properly because you might not recover your account if these keys are lost. And you are warned never to allow any third party to access your account.

I prefer backing up my posting key file, so that if incase lost of files or device then I can still locate it.

Thanks to @cryptokannon for letting us know about this achievement task and also the importance of securing our different keys as it affects steemit block chain.

@steemcurator01
@steemcurator02
@steemcurator03
@steemalive
@bright-obias

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60256.67
ETH 2327.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46