[Achievement 2] - Basic security on steemit by @sufficienti

in Newcomers' Community3 years ago
Greeting and welcome to my achievement 2 on steemit. It been few days since I joined steemit and I have been exploring the platform, from one community to another. I have not really made a choice to join any community yet as am still in training. But I will join soon.

Today an going to make my achievement 2 post after going through the class published by @ cryptokannon. I hope you will enjoy it.

Question 1
Have you retrieve all your keys on steemit?

Yes, definitely i have retrieved all my keys.

Question 2
Do you know each of these key functions and restrictions?

Yes I do. I have a clear knowledge on their functions too which am going to elaborate on.

POSTING KEY:

This key can be used for activities like logging in, posting content, commenting on peoples content, resteem posts, edit post and vote a post(either upvote or downvote)

ACTIVE KEY:

This key is concerned with the financial aspect of your steemit account. Which includes voting for witness, power up, transfer of steem from one user to another. Apart from the above mentioned, it has no other valuable use

OWNER KEY:

The owner key can be used to change all other keys. Except the master password. The master password can be used to change all keys, in the case of keeping your account free from attackers.

MEMO KEY:

The only purpose of this key is to send and receive encrypted messages.

MASTER PASSWORD:

This is the first password you are given during sign up. So it is important you keep it so you can recover your account in the future

Question 3
How do you plan to keep your master password?

It no longer a plan as I have already kept my password safely in my Gmail in case I loose my phone, I printed it on a paper so I can scan the bar code at convenience. Following the instructions when trying to signup, I also stored it in a flash drive that I don't use frequently.

Question 4
Do you know how to transfer your steem token to another steem user account?

Yes i do thanks to the class.

• Click on your profile picture at the top right of your screen, and choose "wallet".

logo10_22_142457.png

• Try to click on the small Brown arrow also known as dropdown, close to your steem balance and list will appear, click on "TRANSFER" as indicated by the arrow

logo10_22_142131.png

• Then this page will appear. Fill appropriately and use your active key to confirm the transaction.

logo10_22_145124.png

Question 5
Do you know how to power up your STEEM?

Yes i know how to again, all thanks to this class

• Get to your wallet page as illustrated during the previous step of question 4.

logo10_22_142457.png

• Try to click on the small Brown arrow also known as dropdown, close to your steem balance and a list will appear, click on "POWER UP"as indicated by the arrow.

logo10_22_15520.png

• Then this page will appear, fill appropriately and confirm your transaction with the active key.

logo10_22_14566.png

With this knowledge, I believe am well educated on my wallet and it's security. Thanks to everyone who took their time to read through.

Cc:-
@amjadsharif
@lovveday
@arrowgate

Thank you for your great work in this platform.

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

Congratulations!

You have successfully completed this achievement task, you can proceed to complete your next achievement post

Good luck!

 3 years ago 

Hi, @sufficienti,

Your post has been supported by @lovveday from the Steem Greeter Team.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59908.77
ETH 3191.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43