Achievement 2: Basic Security on steemit

in Newcomers' Community3 years ago

Hello my eSTEEMed STEEMians trust you guys are doing great. am here once again to carry out my Achievement 2 task which is basic security.

Screenshot_20210429-122420.png

After accomplishing my Achievement one by posting my introduction post I made findings on steemit security which I will be sharing with you all. So follow me carefully as we digest all the security on steemit.

First of all before I proceed I will like to define what security is. According to a dictionary definition, security is define as the state of being free from danger or threat. Simply put, security is the act of protection. so what ever way you choose to protect your belongings from being damage, from thieves, from missing we consider it as security. In our country, we can see that our government provide a strong security by the recruitment of Armies.
BRSH_Kosovo_Security_Force_KSF.jpg
Source

Therefore, with out taking much of our time, I will be telling us how to utilize some security keys on steemit platform.
Immediately I finished registering my account, I got an email which direct me on how to get my login details and keys.
These keys are

Screenshot_20210429-123702.png

private posting key

private memo key

private active key

private owner key

public key

PRIVATE POSTING KEY

We mainly Use this key to log in to other Steem-powered social networks like Steemit, Busy and eSteem.
It is also used in Publishing post and commenting, upvoting or down voting.

PRIVATE ACTIVE KEY

This key has additional permissions for more sensitive monetary-related actions, like transferring and exchanging tokens. it is also used in transferring tokens, conversion of SBD, power up.

PRIVATE MEMO KEY

The only thing the Memo Key can do is encrypt and decrypt private messages that are sent through the blockchain.

PRIVATE OWNER KEY

The owner key is required to change the other keys. This key has additional permissions to recover your account or change your other keys. It's the most important key and should be securely stored offline.

PUBLIC KEY

Each Steem Key has a public and private key to encrypt and decrypt data. Public keys are associated with usernames and can be used to look up associated transactions on the blockchain. Your public keys are not required for login on Steemit.com and you don't need to store these safely.

These keys must be protected with the maximum security. I will recommend all to write all these keys in a book and keep it in a safe place meanwhile a need to save it in a folder inside your Gmail is also recommendable.

Do your self a favour by making sure these key are ssfe.

Also I will like to share with you guys how to send your steem to your desire wallet. Before I continue I will like to tell you guys how @emmynice01 lost about 68 steems to @roqqulovesteem in early January.
Screenshot_20210429-120116.png

Because he lack knowledge of how to transfer steem to his desire wallet, he was not able to put his receiving wallet memo and that's how he couldn't get the steem in to his roqqu wallet.
So you case will not be like that because I will show you how to do it successful. Note am going to use roqqu platform as example.

STEP 1

  • Go to your wallet on your steemit account
  • click on the drop down on transferable steem
  • click on transfer.
    Screenshot_20210429-113831.png

step 2

  • input the roqqulovesteem as receiver
  • put in your memo (roqqu steem address)
  • click next
    Screenshot_20210429-114449.png

step 3

  • sign in with your owner key to authorize the transaction.
    Screenshot_20210429-114546.png

That's all you need to successfully transfer your steem to your other exchange wallet. The same procedure apply to all other exchange platform you wish to send to.

Thanks you all for taking your time to read.
special regards to
Cc @steemcurator01
Cc @steemcurator02
Cc @cryptokannon

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

@bright-obias am posting Achievement 2 for the third time. I need verification of Achievement two so as to write Achievement 3
Pls help

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63595.77
ETH 3415.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49