ACHIEVEMENT 2: UNDERSTANDING BASIC STEEMIT SECURITY KEYS BY @sir-vic.steemCreated with Sketch.

in Newcomers' Community3 years ago (edited)

HELLO GREAT FAMILY
Trust God you all had a wonderful day
Having gone through and completed my #achievement1 post, it is on this base I have taken the decision to take a step forward to the next achievement test.
I have read and gone through all the resources necessary to enable me carry out this test perfectly. I have also drawn a conclusion that there is no one security key on this steemit platform that does not have a function. Every key you see in the downloaded PDF is as important and necessary as our ATM card pin, mobile bank transfer code, pin or token.
So, to this note, I will recommend and advice that all the keys in this platform should be extremely guarded.
I want to use this very medium to appreciate the efforts of those who in one way or the other helped in making my achievement1 post to be verified and those who help curated my post. I am very grateful. The likes of @graciee20,@whitestallion @steemcurator03 to mention but a few, I’m grateful and your efforts can not be taken for granted.
I have taken my time to read and study the achievement 2 guide provided by @cryptokannon . Thus my achievement 2 post.
This achievement2 is to help us understand the various types of keys in steemit, their functions, uses and how to safe guard our steemit account.

  1. HAVE YOU DOWNLOADED YOUR KEYS AND BEEN ABLE TO SAVE THEM?
    I believe YES
    Note: These keys come in PDF format and should be downloaded and save in a place where only you can access it.
    Immediately after my registration, I downloaded and saved my steemit keys and also backed it up and also copied it and saved it on my laptop.
  2. HAVE YOU READ AND UNDERSTOOD THESE KEYS AND THEIR FUNCTIONS?
    I also believe YES
    I read and went through several post and guides, not leaving the guide to achievement2 post by @cryptokannon.
    I understood what each security key stands for.
    Let’s take a look at what each key stands for
    a. PRIVATE POSTING KEY
    Screenshot_20210419-195643.png
    User login

This is the key that allows you to post, comment, edit or update other accounts, vote up and down, reply and follow or mute them. And it helps users to log into their account and work.
b. PRIVATE MEMO KEY

SP TRA.png

This is a key in steemit used to decrypt/decode private transfer memos. It is used for transferring of funds from other crypto wallets to your wallet.
When this key is wrongly applied or misuse, it can lead to loose of money and other valuable information.
c. PRIVATE ACTIVE KEY

Screenshot_20210419-195643.png

In a nutshell, this a key used in sending funds
SP TRA.png
to anyone and perform your transactions, to convert them into stem dollars and to vote for a good post, to change your profile and update information and to place market orders.
d. PRIVATE OWNER KEY
This very key to me should be very personal, yes I mean very personal because it is used to reset all your other keys. For the rate of cyber insecurity, I will advice that it is better kept offline. In case of compromise, this very key can be use to recover it within 30 days at https://steemitwallet.com.
e. MASTER PASSWORD
This is a seed password that is used to generate this document. It is advised not to be shared.
MEASURES TAKEN IN ENSURING THE SAFETY OF MASTER KEY
It is advised to save it off line.
STEPS TAKEN IN TRANSFERRING STEEM TOKEN TO ANOTHER USER.
Go to your browser, like chrome and type in stemmit wallet and input your user name and you private active key or Click on wallet on your page by clicking your picture at the right top of your page, allow the page load then click on login at the top right corner of your page amd input your details.
S TRA.png

Immediately you logged in, the amount of steem you have will display, click on it.
A mini menu will appear with list of items,
SP TRA.png
click on transfer
This section will then appear,
S TRA.png
input the persons’ user name you are sending it to and that is all.
Warning please: do not click on any link you have no knowledge about most of they are scammers.
To the notice of:
cc:
@bright-obias
@whitestallion
@cryptokannon
@belenguerra
@steemcurator01
@steemcurator02
@steemcurator03
@booming04
Thanks for your support, I really appreciate

Sort:  

Well explained.

 3 years ago 

Thanks

 3 years ago 

Good jobs..you really explained everything in a detailed format. I hope you won't in no time complain about your keys..

Best Regards

 3 years ago 

Thanks sir

A good explanation and demonstration of how the security keys functions. This shows you have understood them very well. Hope you will keep the safe as your have indicated especially with the offline method. Congratulations on completing your achievement 2 task

Please remove the tags for steem curator 1 and 2. We have been warned not to tag them again in our posts.
#twopercent #cameroon

 3 years ago 

Thanks ma, okay I will

 3 years ago 

Congratulations on your progress, your achievement 2 task has been verified, you may now proceed to the next achievement task.

You have been upvoted by @whitestallion and I’m voting with the Steemit Community Curator @steemcurator03 account to support the newcomers coming into steemit.

Follow @steemitblog for the latest update on Steem Community.

Rating - 2

 3 years ago 

Thanks sir, I'm grateful

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66299.06
ETH 3319.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69