ACHIEVEMENT 2 @sidotakpan BASIC SECURITY ON STEEM

in Newcomers' Community3 years ago

Hi STEEMIANS,
How is everyone? I hope all is well. Sorry I have been dormant for a while due to some personal challenges. I hope I’m pardoned.
Today, I will like to talk about the various steemit keys and security. New security keys are provided to newcomers when they sign up on steemit, these keys guard our accounts and we ought to know about them.

QUESTION 1: Have you retrieve all your keys on steemit?
YES! I was able to retrieve all my keys upon signing up into steemit and saved them. There are four (4) main keys which are the master key, the owner key, the active key and the posting key
QUESTION 2: Do you know each of these keys functions and restrictions?

MASTER PASSWORD: The master password is the password given to you during your signing up which should be kept safe as it can be used to access an account and it is used to generate other keys.

OWNERS KEY: The key is only needed when necessary, and it is the strongest key because it can change any key of an account. It is used to recover a compromised account.

ACTIVE KEY: The key is for transferring funds, power up/down transaction, converting steem dollars, voting for witnesses, updating profile details and placing a market order.

POSTING KEY: This key is what allows accounts to post, comment, edit, vote, resteem and follow or mute other accounts. And it is adviceable for users to login smeemit everyday with the posting key.

MEMO: This is used for encrypting and decrypting memos when transferring funds. And in order to encrypt a memo, use the pound/#sign before it.

QUESTION 3: How do you plan to keep your master password?
These keys are important which must be kept in a good place because it is certain that you cannot recover your account if you lose it, and with your secure keys you can be sure that third parties will not use them in any way, I saved my password on my Phone, laptop and my email.
QUESTION 4: Do you know how to transfer your steem token to another steem user account?
Thanks to my good friend @amplegeologist who educated me on this and I have practiced how to transfer steem token to another steem user account. After logging into my wallet, sign in with my active key and clicked on steem dollars drop down arrow.

image.png

Then clicked on transfer then input the user name of the person I want to transfer to. Finally I created a memo submit for confirmation with my active key.

image.png

QUESTION 5: Do you know how to power up your STEEM?
To power up I’ll have to login to my wallet and sign in with my active key click on STEEM drop down arrow.

image.png

Click on power up then input the amount I want and then click on power up to confirm.

image.png

Thanks @cryptokannon for all the information provided to us about the achievements on steemit and knowing the importance of keys and security of each of our keys.
Cc: @steemcurator01
Cc: @steemcurator02
Cc: @steemcurator03
Cc: @creativevoice

Sort:  

PLEASE REFRAIN FROM MENTIONING STEEM CURATORS SC01 & SC02

 3 years ago 

Oh! My bad. Thank you for letting me know.

MORE THAN 60% PLAGIARISM HAS BEEN DETECTED.

Original Sources are;
ACHIEVEMENT 2 @abdoul-aziz : Basic Security on Steem
ACHIEVEMENT 2: SECURITY OF MY STEEMIT KEYS // by @zaghi

Please edit your post and try to attempt it on your own.

 3 years ago 

Hey!! Welcome to Steemit!!

I really hope that you enjoy your time in this great platform.

You might be wondering… What to do now?!

My suggestion for you are the following, join us in:

  • Writing & Reviews: The best place on Steemit to share your creative writings, diary posts and other reviews that you’d like to post (no matter if it’s book reviews, movies, games, music…).

  • Steem Argentina: Join us for general topics! We’re a community of Argentinians, but feel free to come and share with us!

  • Steem Geography: Interested about Geography? You won’t find a better place than this one! 😉

  • Steem Wellness: Wanna share your beauty secrets or how well you trained? This is your place!

Don’t miss them out, we run weekly contests in all of them!
We’d love to see you there!!

 3 years ago 

Thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63824.30
ETH 3420.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54