Achievement 2 @sgt.lee Task: Basic Security On Steem.

in Newcomers' Community3 years ago (edited)

SECURITY

First and foremost, what is security?
Security is the absence of or resistance to harm caused by others. Simply simply, security refers to the absence of danger or harm.
Security is normally associated with anything of value, and because steem has such a high value, it necessitates the presence of some basic security, which I'll describe below.

Question 1:

Have you retrieved all your keys on Steemit?

Answer

Yes, during my registration on Steemit, I was able to obtain all of my keys, which are as follows:
• Master key
• Owner key
• Active key
• Memo key
• Posting key

Question 2:

Do you know each of these key’s functions and restrictions?

Answer

I can certainly state that I understand the functions and limits of each key after thoroughly reading @cryptokannon's presentation on the various keys. Let's take a closer look at them.

Master key
This key, as its name implies, is the most powerful of all the keys. All other keys, including the owner key, are generated using it. If the master key is compromised, your whole account and all of your valuables are at risk. If you lose any key, be sure it's not the master key.

Owner key
The most powerful key, which should only be used when absolutely required. It's powerful since it can modify any account key, including the owner key (not the Master key). Because it's used to recover a hacked account, keeping it offline is the best option.

Active key
Due to the sensitivity of certain tasks, the active key is necessary to perform certain functions such as transferring funds, power up/down transactions, converting steem to dollars, voting for witness, altering profile details and avatar, and placing a market order.
Memo key
This key is typically used to encrypt and decrypt memos when transferring funds.

Posting key
This key allows account to post, comment, edit, vote, resteem and follow or mute other accounts.

Question 3:

How do you plan to keep your master password?

Answer

Given the potential consequences of having your master key compromised or lost, here are the precautions I've taken to keep it safe:

  1. I saved it in both my primary and backup email accounts.
  2. I saved it to a USB flash disk.
  3. I uploaded it to my Google Drive cloud storage account.
  4. To top it off, I printed a hardcopy of it and kept it in a locked locker.

Question 4:

Do you know how to transfer your steem token to another steem user account?

Answer

Yes, I am aware of how to move my steem token to another steem account. The following is a step-by-step procedure for doing so:

NOTE: Because this involves transferring of funds, you need to login with your active key after clicking wallet from your profile menu.

STEP1: click on the drop-down button beside your steem balance which in my case is 0.001 steem.
STEP2: select Transfer from the drop-down menu and a dialogue interface will popup.
See a picture demonstration below for step 1 and 2.

Screenshot (2).png

STEP 3: Fill in the recipient’s username in the “To” box.
STEP 4: Enter your preferred amount in the amount box (be sure the selection next to the amount box is on steem).
STEP 5: Fill in the memo box.
STEP 6: Click next to complete the transfer. You should see a “Transfer successful” page after that and you are done.
See a picture demonstration for steps 3,4,5 and 6 below.

Screenshot (3).png

Question 5:

Do you know how to power up your steem?

Answer

Yes I do and here I’m going to be showing you how to power up your steem. In this case powering up means converting your steem to steem power whiles powering down means converting your steem power back to steem. Below is a step-by-step procedure for doing so:

NOTE: Just like transferring funds you need to login with your active key after clicking wallet from your profile menu.

STEP 1: click on the drop-down button beside your steem balance which in my case is 0.001 steem.
STEP 2: Click power up from the drop-down menu and the power up interface will popup.
See a picture demonstration of step 1 and step 2 below.

Screenshot (4).png

STEP 3: Enter the amount of steem you want to power up.
STEP 4: Click on POWER UP to a "power up successful" page. And it will show up on your steem power tab.
See a picture demonstration for step 3 and step 4 below.

Screenshot (5).png

At this point I will like to welcome to the end of my #achievement 2 post. Hope this post is informative and beneficial to anyone who comes across it. Special thanks to @cryptokannon for the great work done. Once again I will like to express my gratitude to @njaywan who happens to be my country rep and other steemians like @zzzinnn, @farhmade, @massachussetts, @zology69, @desiigner and @abdulkahargunu for introducing me to this wonderful community.
See you in my next achievement post And may God bless the whole steemit community.

Sort:  

Great work on your achievement 2 post task, you may now proceed to the next.

rate 3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60612.92
ETH 2607.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65