Achievement 1: Introduction to Erika Voss of Scratched and Burnt StudiossteemCreated with Sketch.

in Newcomers' Community2 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemit!

I am redoing my intro post as I now realize I should have posted here.

My name is Erika Voss. I grew up on a farm outside of Buffalo, NY (USA) near the Canadian border where I played soccer from a young age through college at Buffalo State University. After a failed youthful marriage, I transferred and moved to Philadelphia, PA (USA) for a fresh start.

Me!

I have recently embarked on a new journey in life, having left my job of over two decades at the age of 41 to become a full-time artist. These last few weeks have been quite the adventure for my fiancée and me. We moved me out of my former residence and I am now living with him. He - @jae5086 - joined this community long ago and thought it would be a great outlet for showing off my art as well as gaining some inspiration from other artists who are already established on the platform.

I plan to get a part time job at a nearby craft store soon to make sure my rent is paid, but otherwise it is all about making art and I couldn't be more excited about building on this long-awaited time in my life! So let's talk about the art I make...

My Art

Pyrography

While I work with a variety of mediums, my focus is on pyrography, which is Greek for writing with fire. This involves a controlled burn, typically on wood, using a small heated pen. Often, I like to add color either by painting with watercolors or using colored pencils. I can further add flare by other means, such as using specialty adhesives and foil shavings or using thicker sealers like epoxy for a different look. You will find I have a thing for dragons...

Dragon Art

Crafting

This can come in many forms but one of my better sellers are resin cast koi ponds. Crafting these ponds involves all sorts of items, depending on the theme, being secured with an adhesive within the container, typically a flower pot saucer or small decorative bowl, to create a small faux ecosystem. Epoxy resin is added in multiple layers, with various parts of the fish or other animals painted on the layers to add dimension. I also make coasters and other epoxy resin art, though most of that will have to wait until we build out a small workshop space in the garage.

Koi Ponds

Painting

I don't often paint in a traditional sense - with paint and a canvas - but occasionally I will break out the easel a paint with watercolors. This is usually when someone commissions a piece.

Sunset Explosion 4-3.jpg

Others

Sometimes I will make a little jewelry but there is so many people out there that make jewelry, it is hard to make that a viable product to market. I do keep a small inventory, however. In the future, I would like to do some clay sculpting. Back in college, I had studied and enjoyed it. Right now, it is not feasible until we are ready to buy our own property and set up a more robust studio. We're probably a few years away from that but it will be fun documenting the journey here!

Plans

Now that creating art is my business, my fiancée and partner in this venture have many plans for both the short- and long-term future. While I have been a vendor on Etsy for many years, we hope to begin working on a website very soon as well as ramping up a social media presence. That's one of the main reason's I am here and hope to share with you my many creations while also gaining some inspiration and maybe some new techniques from my fellow artists already established here on Steemit!

Another short-term goal is to start a YouTube channel showcasing my creations through time-lapse videos. Already we have a stock pile as @jae5086 has been teaching himself video editing for this purpose. We are just waiting on a website before launching. As we become more acquainted with the Steemit ecosystem, we will no doubt be expanding to some of the other platforms as well.

Crypto

I have little experience with cryptocurrencies, though my fiancée does so I know enough about it despite never having owned any. Ultimately, I leave the investing to @jae5086. We will definitely be joining #club100.

Wrap up

Thanks for taking the time to read through this introduction. If it was an enjoyable diversion from your day, I am happy and would be grateful for any and all comments regarding what you liked or didn't like from my post, as well as suggestions of how to better utilize the platform to create the most entertaining content as possible. If you have any question about me or my art, you can ask those too!

In the meantime, feel free to join me on some of my other social sites for different types of content!


Social_IG.png Social_TT.png Social_FB.png Social_T.png Social_P.png Social_YT.png

Visit Etsy Shop.png

Sort:  
 2 years ago 

Hola @scratched-burnt fue un gusto leer tu publicación, mi nombre es Laura, te saludo desde Venezuela. Soy nueva en Steemit, voy por el logro 2, revisando las publicaciones me topé con la tuya la cuál me encantó, en primer lugar, quiero felicitarte por el valor que tienes para empezar de nuevo, por dejar tu trabajo y emprender con lo que realmente amas. Yo amo el arte en todas sus presentaciones, el arte para mí es la expresión más natural de nuestras almas, en particular mi pasión es el baile.

Me llamó mucho la atención el Pirograbado porque no lo había visto antes y ese dragón está espectacular, te felicito y te deseo lo mejor en esta plataforma y en todo lo que te propongas. Yo también le tengo mucha fe a esta plataforma y tengo la intención de ser nómada digital y viajar por el mundo.

Saludos a @jae5086 ¡qué suerte tienen de tenerse! Buenas noches. Un abrazo en la distancia.

 2 years ago 

Thank you so much for your support. Sorry for the delay. I forgot Google translate was a thing!

Greetings friend @scratched-burnt

Welcome to Steemit, I'm glad you decided to join this great platform to share original and good quality posts.

I invite you to show a new presentation photo holding a sign where the word "Steemit", Country, "User", "Achievement 1" and the current date must appear, this information must be handwritten, present a photo size that allows a better reading.

I wish you success.

 2 years ago 

The image was replaced with the new information and larger. I looked better in the other one though!

You have not made the change, the publication does not show the edited status.

 2 years ago (edited)

Actually clicking "update post" would have helped. Done now.

Hello
Good work on your introduction post

Philly aye...are you a basketball fan?

if you need a hand with anything on steemit let me know

 2 years ago (edited)

Not so much basketball, more hockey and have been getting into football (American). I only know Philly teams a little because of the other people around here. Otherwise, I'm still a Buffalo gal at heart. I'm also getting to know the Pittsburgh Steelers because of @jae5086. If I should take your comment to allude to being a 76ers fan, what did you think of this last season?

I did find the Ben Simmons drama compelling despite not following the sport. It actually made me start paying more attention.

Greetings friend @scratched-burnt

Welcome to Steemit, I'm glad you decided to join this great platform to share original and good quality posts.

I am pleased to see that you have completed achievement 1, therefore, it is my duty to tell you that you should review the content of Achievement 2, this should not limit you to participate in activities of other communities.

Remember to use the hashtags #Achievement2 and #srilanka and post from Newcomers' Community.

I am @adeljose, Venezuela Representative in Steemit, our desire is to help you grow in this platform, so I want to invite you to be part of Newcomers' Community .

I invite you to follow the account @steemitblog, and keep updated with the activities that the Steemit team has for us.

On the other hand, I invite you to join the #club5050 to start generating the growth of your account, making Power Up of the same amount of Steem that you can withdraw.

Remember to participate in other communities.
Also, I invite you to check out our community updates here

Success in this new experience.

R1

 2 years ago 

Hi, @scratched-burnt,

Your post has been supported by @adeljose from the Steem Greeter Team.

Welcome on steemit Vote for witness us

 2 years ago 

This is some breath taking artworks which clearly shows how mush effort and love you put in your work big respect

 2 years ago 

Thanks for the kind words. I'm really looking forward to getting a YouTube page sorted out so I can post the time-lapse videos we've been making.

 2 years ago 

well guess what you already have regular viewer for yo amazing artwork process i hope you make it soon

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58559.96
ETH 3156.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44