Achievement 2 by @rosita-nkefor | Task: Basic Security on Steem

in Newcomers' Community3 years ago (edited)

Hello everyone. I'm delighted to write my achievement 2 post mentored by @cryptokannon.
images (3).jpeg
Source: lansg.com

I woke up that morning with anxiousness brewing in my stomach. Worry filled my being as I kept hearing a voice at the back of my head "Your keys are not safe". I knew for a fact that I had retrieved all my keys but one can never be too sure and I wasn't keen on ignoring my gut. With my heart in my throat, I checked on all the online copies of my keys. All five copies were safe and not tampered with. I still couldn't rest. I opened all my safe places and found every single printed copy where I left them. Relief flooded my body as I could feel my tightened muscles relax. Unbeknownst to anyone, my master password was kept seperately in my most secured location.

Thinking back to the day I retrieved my keys, I remembered the use of all the keys. Unlike other platforms on which your account can simply be accessed with your username or email address and your password, steemit was different. Here, you have different keys which grants you different types of access to your account.

The least of all these keys is the posting key. It is what I use to log into my account daily as it permits me solely to make my posts, comment on others, vote on posts, resteem posts, edit my posts and even mute users wherever necessary. Though limited, it is the most functional of my keys.

But in order to log into my wallet to make any transactions, transfers, place market order, power up or down, or vote for witnesses, I need to log in with my active key rather.

When transferring funds, should I feel the need to encrypt my memo or an encrypted memo needs to be decrypted, that is when the memo key comes into play.

Then comes my owner key, one I hope to never use. It is used to recover an account that has been compromised. This is possible in case your keys are hacked or stolen, it can be used to change your keys this getting your account back.
My master password, the king of all the keys, is used to generate the other keys including the owner key. Due to its value, it is kept well hidden and secured.
Browsing through #steemit, I came upon a post that was so good I really wanted to reward it. But due to my little steem power, I was unable to do something meaningful. Hence, I decided to transfer a small steem token to the user.

Opening my wallet, I logged in using my active account to permit me access. Beside the steem token value, I clicked on the drop down rrow beside it and selected "Transfer" among the options available. A pop up box appeared and I went ahead to write the amount of steem I wanted to send, then I inputted the username of the person I wished to send the steem to. After triple checking, I clicked on sent and the transaction was confirmed a few minutes later.

Screenshot_20210705-011625.png

Screenshot_20210705-011704.png

I had few steem tokens left but I wanted to power up. So, I clicked on the same drop down arrow. I then selected a different option "Power up". A pop up appeared and I inputted the amount of steem I wanted to power up.

Screenshot_20210705-011732.png
After double checking, I confirmed the transaction. Seeing my steem power increase, I looked at my wallet with a content smile gracing my lips.

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

Hello please demonstrate question 4 and 5 with screenshots

 3 years ago 

Thank you. It has been done.

 3 years ago 

Congratulations @rosita-nkefor

You have passed Achievement 2 on understanding the purposed of the different keys offered to you on the steemit platform on creating your account. I personally happy you went ahead to show us how you can transfer seen token and power up your account from your wallet

RemarkRate
Presentation0.5
Tasks complete01.5
Engaging01
Total03

Rating: 3

Please get ready for the next task on Achievement 3: Content Etiquette Link You are expected to know the Proof of Brain concept and able to produce and sharing quality/original content.


Thanks
Greeter helper

 3 years ago 

Thank you. I will get to work

 3 years ago 

Hi, @rosita-nkefor,

Your post has been supported by @heriadi from the Steem Greeter Team.

 3 years ago 

Thank you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 57983.67
ETH 2465.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41