Achievement 4 by @reminiscence01 Task: Applying markdowns (Power up 100%)steemCreated with Sketch.

in Newcomers' Community4 years ago (edited)

Not Always about the money

Hello Steemians, I'm glad to write my achievement post on a memorable event that happened in my last year December. I engaged in a friendship with someone I have never seen or talked for the first time. I hope you enjoy my story.

My story

Early last year's December, a friend of mine needed to sell his phone due to the financial crisis he was facing. He told me about it and wanted me to get a buyer as soon as possible. The phone was Infinix Note 7, 6gig Ram and 128gig Rom. It wasn't up to two months he bought at 98,000NGN. I took the pictures of the phone so I can create an ad on Jiji.

I was told to sell the phone at 70,000NGN with an option to be negotiable. I got phone calls from different locations in Nigeria because I was in Aba, Abia State. Using Jiji. ng is very risky and you need to be in the same location with the seller so you can confirm what you are buying before making payment. Two days passed after I created the ad and I didn't see a buyer that negotiated up to 65,000NGN.

On a faithful night around 11 pm, I got a call from Jude who wanted to pay 65,000NGN which was accepted by my friend. He told me that he is interested to buy the phone but he is in Benin City. I asked if he has someone in Aba who can see the phone and confirm it before he can make the payment but he said no. I didn't know what to do because there's no way I can waybill the phone to him without receiving the money. Similarly, I didn't expect him to send the money without seeing the phone. I explained the problem to him and he optioned to send the money without seeing the phone. I never knew this guy but he chose to trust me. I told him the risk involved in what he is trying to do but he was positive about my kind of person. Well, I already know my type of person and I know I can't engage in any fraudulent activities because my conscience will hunt me for the rest of my life.

The following day, he called me that he will send the money in the afternoon. Before 9am that same day, I got a call from another buyer who is in the same location as me and he agreed to pay 70,000NGN for the phone.

He was desperate to come and meet me immediately with the money. But Jude has already trusted me with his hard-earned money despite not knowing who I'm. Similarly, I could have easily sold the phone to the guy who wanted to pay a higher price. But I turned down the offer from the guy in the same location as me. I never wanted to let Jude down. He did something that melted my spirit and questioned my sincerity. To be honest, I will never do what Jude did by sending money to someone for goods I haven't seen and don't know the working condition.

To cut the whole story short, I sent the Phone to Jude the following morning through Peace mass transit to Benin City. He received the phone and was very happy. He called me and express the shock of his life. He never believed I could receive the money and still send the phone. I could have easily disappeared and there's no way he can find me.
We became friends and kept good conversation. I have never been to Benin City but I now have a good friend over there. He invited me to Benin and I promised to come over someday.

images (11).jpeg
Source

A bitter truth

I had a paradigm shift about life after this incident. Sometimes, it isn't about the money or the benefits, rather it's about building relationships on trust, honesty and integrity. I believe that someday in the future, either I or Jude will be in a good position to help each other. A friendship that couldn't have started just because of 5000NGN or because of my insincerity.

Life isn't really all about more. Humanity comes first.

Thank you for reading. I hope you find this story meaningful and learn from it.

Special thanks:
Cc: @cryptokannon
Cc: @focusnow

Sort:  

hey, you have to apply at least 5 markdowns and I cannot find many. Please edit your post and apply them.

 3 years ago 

Thank you for your response. I have edited the post.

 3 years ago 

Good morning @aniqamashkoor. I have edited my post. Please kindly verify so i can proceed to other achievement tasks.
Best regards.

Hey @reminiscence01, this is Aniqa Mashkoor one of the greeter helpers.

You have successfully completed your achievement 4 and now you can head towards completion of achievement 5. Please read and understand it first Achievement 5 : Understanding The Steem Tools

Task Rate: 2


I believe that with completion of this achievement you have learn how to make table and alignment of text and images.

Remember that achievement 5 has 4 tasks and you have to make separate post for each task. And each task must be posted in Newcomers' Community. Get ready for a hands on experience of steemit tools.

Your are now eligible to be a part of Newcomer's Support program which is 500SP Minnow Support Program

HAPPY STEEMING :)
#pakistan #affable

 3 years ago 

Thank you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64302.59
ETH 2654.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83