ACHIEVEMENT 2 @rapharchick: Basic Security on Steem

in Newcomers' Community3 years ago

Greeting steem community my name is Chick Raphar (@rapharchick on steemit). I will be presenting to you all my achievement 2 and today I will be sharing with you my understanding so far concerning steem security and I hope you reading this achievement post will have a broad and a better understanding about steem security too.

HAVE YOU RETRIEVED ALL YOUR KEYS???

photo-1579728866437-6397f3d89ec3.jpg

source: https://unsplash.com/photos/zFy6fOPZEu0

Yes, I have. I have all my steem keys retrieved and its quite obvious that without these keys I won’t be able to do any thing on my steem account including this post I published. So, it my priority and responsibility to ensure that all my steem keys are protected and well secured in a well-prepared location. They include my master key, Private posting key, private active key, private owner key, private memo, and my TRON keys

DO YOU KNOW THE FUNCTION AND RESTRICTONS OF ALL THESE KEYS?
If no ride on… It is my priority and objective that at the end of these reading you should have a deep understanding of it all.
It is with the help of @blaisebass who referred me to this site and has walked me through the various steps and has helped me to understand the functionalities of the various keys. Thanks too to @cryptokannon who welcomed me to the newcomer’s community and gave me a hinting directive on steem security
Below are some of the different keys and their functions
Private Posting Key
Used to log in to apps such as Steemit.com and perform social actions such as posting, commenting, and
voting.
Private Active Key
Used for monetary and wallet related actions, such as transferring tokens or powering STEEM up and down.
Private Memo Key
Used to decrypt private transfer memos.
Private Owner Key
This key is used to reset all your other keys. It is recommended to keep it offline at all times. If your account
is compromised, use this key to recover it within 30 days at https://steemitwallet.com.
without these keys you will not be able to access any of the above sectors of your account

wood-top-keys-lock.jpg
source: https://www.pexels.com/photo/rusted-grey-padlock-in-selective-focus-photography-912005/

HOW DO YOU INTEND TO PROTECT YOUR MASTERKEY???
Your master key is the most important and major key to your account. If it is hacked or copied by a hacker, then he can regenerate your steem keys documents and as computer engineer and a networking student, I understand the priority of well securing passwords. It is very important to secure what ever is private and valuable to you. I have saved my keys both online and offline. Online on the cloud space and offline on a paper and kept almost my important files. Also, I have it stored and encrypted on my phone, flash drive and PC (All encrypted with Strong passwords). So, in case I loss one, I have access to the others.

2bP4pJr4wVimqCWjYimXJe2cnCgn5TEEZEWXrG7n9QA.png
source: https://steemit.com/hive-172186/@cryptokannon/basic-security-on-steem-achievement-2-mentor-by-cryptokannon

photo-1552808903-dba1210f31c6.jpg

source: https://unsplash.com/photos/KGbX1f3Uxtg
DO YOU KNOW HOW TO TRANSFER YOUR STEEM TOKEN TO ANOTHER STEEM ACCOUNT?
Yes, I do with the help of @blaisebass1 who has bee guiding me on how to go about every action on this site. He took out his time and explained to me how my wallet functions and how to properly transfer steem tokens from one user to another practically;
When I’m logged into my steem account, I move to my wallet where I find the total amount of steem in my wallet. There is also a drop-down arrow which when I click, I select transfer out of the available options.

image.png

Another dialogue box will appear to input the account name of the receiver or beneficiary, the amount of steem and a public memo.

image.png

I take next, input my active key to confirm the transaction

image.png

NEXT… DO YOU KNOW HOW TO POWER UP YOUR STEEM?
Absolutely yes. @blaisebass1 made me to understand that having a heavy steem power grants me the ability to comment and even post and that powering up builds my steem power. On my wallet where do I find the total amount of steem, and how do I powerup?? There is a drop-down arrow that shows up, I click on it and select power up to convert my steem into steem power.

image.png

Enter the amount of steem I want to convert into steem power and click on power up

image.png
With this done, your steem is powered up.
Thanks for being there to read my achievement 2
N.B: All screen shots are taken by me from my laptop

@cryptokannon
@saxopedia
@blaisebass1
@fombae

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

You have been upvoted by @bright-obias, Steem Greeter from STEEM POD Project and we are voting with the Steemit Community Curator @steemcurator03 account to support the newcomers coming into steemit. Follow @steemitblog for the latest update on Steem Community. Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64479.05
ETH 3181.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57