Achievement 2 ;basic security@ paulbe

in Newcomers' Community3 years ago (edited)

Hello steemians,
How are you guy trust all is well with you,please join me as we take a look at the uses of all the keys we were given when we signed up on steemit.

DIFFERENT KEYS AND THEIR IMPORTANCE

MASTER PASSWORD
Its the password with a veto power on its owner account in that with it you can carry out all manner of activities such as generation of all other keys thus it must be handle with utmost care because if it gets into the wrong hands the owner can loose his/her account,money and many more.

OWNER KEY
Its the most powerful key because with it one can change any key in an account and its used to recover an account that has been compromised.

ACTIVE KEY
Its a key used to transfer, fund, power up or power down transactions,convert steem dollars,voting for witnesses ,update profile details and placing market order.

POSTING KEY
Its what allows accounts to post comment,edit,vote,resteem and follow or mute other account . And its advisable for users to login steemit everyday with posting key.

MEMO
Its used to encrypting and decrypting memos when transferring funds. And in order to encrypt a memo,use the pound or #sign before it.

All this keys are very important hence its of utmost importance that we keep them safe because if lost or in the wrong hands ones account will be compromised and may never be recovered and like me you might want to save yours in an email that is encrypted for safety purpose

Below are ways of transferring steem token to other accounts;
I logged into my wallet,sign in with my active key clicked on steem dollar it drops down arrow I clicked on transfer.

Screenshot_20210403-055030.png

I input the user name of the person I want to transfer to,lastly I create a memo,submit and confirm with my active key.

Screenshot_20210403-055053.png

I login to my wallet and sign in with my active key. I click on steem arrow drops down, I click on power drop.

I input the amount I want and click on power up to confirm.

All thanks to @ cryptokannon for the original post on the importance of keeping our keys safe also a big thanks to @yogi for repost the importance of keeping ones keys safe and guidance on what to do and not do as a new comer on steemit.
Thanks to

For reading my post and there contribution to the success of this post am grateful.

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

You have been upvoted by @bright-obias, Steem Greeter from STEEM POD Project and we are voting with the Steemit Community Curator @steemcurator03 account to support the newcomers coming into steemit. Follow @steemitblog for the latest update on Steem Community. Steem on!

 3 years ago 

Thanks @steemcurator03 am grateful

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65702.61
ETH 3485.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51