Achievement 2 by pantech | Basic Security On Steemit | Mentorship by @cryptokannon

in Newcomers' Community3 years ago (edited)

The importance of protecting and securing my steemit account Cannot be over emphasize.

Today I will be explaining the process I took to make sure that my account is secured

HAVE YOU RETRIEVE ALL YOUR KEYS ON STEEMIT?

First and foremost I made sure that I have retrieved all my keys and changed my password in my steemit.

All the keys are very important and I made sure it was properly safe and saved because it will help me in protecting my account and making sure that nobody or hacker can access my account without my permission.

DO YOU KNOW EACH OF THESE KEY FUNCTIONS AND RESTRICTIONS?

In steemit, without any doubt, the fact remains that each key has it's own function.

So among all this keys which I have retrieved I will be explaining more on their importance,uses and functions in my steemit account.

THE MASTER KEY.
This is actually the main key or important key among all other keys and it is used to produce or generate other keys and it is important to safeguard or protect this key because if shared your account can be hacked or stolen.

POSTING KEY.
This key is very important and also useful because it helps users to post, comment, share,vote,edit and follow, this key also helps individuals to access their account when there want to open their account on another gadget using the posting key.

ACTIVE KEY.
This key is very helpful because it helps in converting of steem into dollars, voting for witnesses,updating ur profile and creating new users, transferring fund and it is very important that this key is kept safe in order to prevent the account from problems or risk.

OWNER KEY.
This is the key that is only used when the need arises,let's take for example when an account is accessed without the owners knowledge or without authorization. So it is important to safeguard this key because it is important.

MEMO KEY.
The memo key is the key that helps in encryption and decryption of memos during the process of transferring funds. So it is very important to protect this key.

HOW DO YOU PLAN TO KEEP YOUR MASTER PASSWORD?

The master password is very important and essential because with the master password nobody can access or penetrate your account without your permission, and I will make sure I keep it in safe place and also save it in my flash drive and in hard copy.
And I have already done it!

DO YOU KNOW HOW TO TRANSFER YOUR STEEM TOKEN TO ANOTHER STEEM USER ACCOUNT?

Here are the process one need to take inorder to transfer steem to another account:

Firstly after logging In, i will click on the wallet option in the profile bar.
After that I will click on the steem option,then the option of transfer and other options will be displayed

Screenshot_20211104-160214.png

I then click on transfer

Screenshot_20211104-160752~2.png

I then input the receivers username and amount and click Next and confirm transfer

Screenshot_20211104-160831.png

DO YOU KNOW HOW TO POWER UP YOUR STEEM?

Power up is a process where liquid Steem is converted into steem power. This is done in the wallet. After signing into my wallet with my username and active key, I click on the drop down arrow close to steem, and then select Power up.

From the drop down menu ,I click power up

Screenshot_20211104-160752~3.png

Screenshot_20211104-161533.png

Then I typed in the amount of steem I want and click power up.

I am grateful to @michaelu40 for mentoring me.

I am also grateful to @ngoenyi and @cryptokannon for their assistance

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64623.67
ETH 3421.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51