Achievement 2 @pandev Task : Basic Security on Steem

in Newcomers' Community3 years ago

Revised-NIST-Cyersecurity-Framework-Seurity-Magazine.jpg

I am really glad to complete my second achievement task. thanks to @cryptokannon and @kiwiscanfly for their post which have guided me in writing my second achievement post.

Joining steemit, I really had serious guide from @njaywan and @farhmade. They told me about how important my keys are. I have retrieve it and I’m keeping it safe.


key.jpg

The keys have their various functions and have their hierarchies. The highest being the master key should be kept very well. It is the most important key as its name suggest. It can be used to override all current passwords to get new owner key and other keys. It is advised to use it only when you are recovering your account.

The next key on the hierarchy is the owner key. It is as important as the master key. It can be used to change keys when account is compromised. It is mostly advised to be kept offline and used once in a while when recovering password.

When then talk about the keys that deals with transferring of funds and making power up/ down transactions and converting steem dollars and other sensitive stuffs. It is seen clearly that all your hard work is been kept under the command of the active key. So if carelessly handled, your hard work can be a waste of time and talent.


images.jpeg

Then we have the posting key. It basically used for posting. It is advised to be used often than all the other keys. But we should be cautions when using it too. Using it always can also get it compromised by others.

Knowing all this about the keys, my master key is what I have to protect the most and I have saved in my Google drive as a digital backup. I also made a hardcopy to keep it out digitally in case anything happen to my Google account.

I don’t actually know how to transfer my steem token to another user yet. But with time, I know I will learn it efficiently.

Powering up, it’s about converting your token in the STEEM in liquid form to power up. We do so, by clicking on a drop down around just by the power up and then click on power up on the drop down that that appears. You then type in the amount of STEEMs you want to convert to power. Then the last stage is power up. After clicking on that, you then convert your STEEMs to power up.

I hope anyone who reads this finds it helpful.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57190.65
ETH 2409.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28