Achievement 2 @olunath Task : Basic Security on Steem

in Newcomers' Community3 years ago

Honestly speaking, I don't know that there are compulsory tasks every newcomers' must finished be they enter deeply into blogging. If I had known, I would have completed all the tasks since I joined early January this year!

ACHIEVEMENT 2.png

But thanks to @reminiscence01 for the guide, here is my submission for the achievement task 2.

Question 1
Have you retrieve all your keys on steemit?

Actually, I have done all this since January, this is one of the reasons why it pain me when I was redirected here for the completion of the tasks.

Immediately I signed up for my Steem account, my brother that introduced steemit to me said I should download the Steem keys and strictly save the PDF file in which I did, he also advised me to save the PDF on my mails for easy access incase I lost the PDF I downloaded.
So, I have retrieved all my steemit keys

Question2
Do you know each of these key functions and restrictions?

Yeah, I know each key functions and restrictions.

My account posting key: This key is used when it comes to performing activities like posting blogs, upvoting & downvoting, editing posted blog or blog comment, following and unfollowing steemit users and resteeming blog posts

My active key: Though all key are special and they all need security but my active key is more special to me because it is used whenever I want to perform monetary transactions.
It's used to transfer Steem and SBD (Steem tokens), its used on Steem market for buying and selling, it's used for witness voting and also we use the active key steem power up and power down, we use it for delegation as well etc.

My private owner key: This key is used to rest all other keys, be it the memo key, the posting key and others. It's always advisable that we keep it offline all time.

My memo key: This key is used for memo decryption and encryption. I.e viewing coded memos and sending memos codedly.

Question 3
How do you plan to keep your master password?

I planned how I'm saving my key the first day I know the importance of those keys. Infact, they are special so I need to keep them in a special way. Most especially the master password.

Below are the steps I used, I'm sure it will help someone here:

IMG-20210702-WA0012.jpg
Here is the PDF file I downloaded

IMG-20210702-WA0011.jpg
I opened the menu bar on my phone and I press the rename

IMG-20210702-WA0008.jpg
I edited the .pdf and I inserted file. (This was done for me to always know that it's a file)

IMG-20210702-WA0010.jpg
I pressed rename

IMG-20210702-WA0009.jpg
Now I've saved the key anonymously, no one can open it until I rename it back by putting the .pdf back

Question 4
Do you know how to transfer your steem token to another steem user account?

Yes, below are the steps I followed whenever I want to transfer any of the Steem tokens (STEEM or SBD)

IMG-20210702-WA0013.jpg
I logged in with my username and the required key

IMG-20210702-WA0016.jpg
I press my Steem dollars balance

IMG-20210702-WA0015.jpg
I press the transfer button

IMG-20210702-WA0014.jpg
I inserted the username and the amount I wanted to send and press next

IMG-20210702-WA0017.jpg
I press ok and that was all

Question 5
Do you know how to power up your STEEM?


Yes, below are the steps I uses whenever I want to power up my Steem

IMG-20210702-WA0018.jpg
I logged in with my username and the required key

IMG-20210702-WA0020.jpg
I pressed my Steem balance here

IMG-20210702-WA0019.jpg
I then pressed "power up" button

IMG-20210703-WA0000.jpg
I entered the amount of Steem I wanted to power up, then I press the "Power up" again

IMG-20210703-WA0001.jpg
I pressed ok and that was all

Disclaimer:
Having said I respected a key among the keys listed above doesn't say the other keys are not useful. Each key on steemit have their specific usefulness.
KEEP THEM ALL

Thanks for going through

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

Dear @cryptokannon, I was going through some of the post in this achievement 2 and I'm seeing things like R2, R3 on the badges of some works, what the meaning please?

Hi i am Sumit one of the team member of Steem Greeter.

I am happy to announce that i have successfully verified your achievement 2 post. Now you are eligible for performing your achievement 3 which is about content etiquettes. You can refer this post for your next task.

Note:

Rate:2

 3 years ago 

Hi, @olunath,

Your post has been supported by @saxopedia from the Steem Greeter Team.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54391.40
ETH 2283.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29