Achievement 2: Understanding basic security on steem, mentorship by @cryptokannon

in Newcomers' Community3 years ago (edited)

Hello steemians

I am very happy to be here once again, I hope you guys are doing great. My name is Ekong Anthony from Nigeria, I joined steemit a month ago, and I am here to perform my task for achievement 2.

Aim of this task

The aim of this task is to get me acquainted with the functions of each steemit keys,how to secure the keys and how to use steemit wallet, transfer steem to another user and power up my steem.

Have you retrieve all your keys on steemit?

Yes, this keys was given to me upon signing up for steemit, I immediately retrieved it and saved them where they are secured and not accessible to others. The keys include the master key; which can be use to retrieved all other keys like my posting key, active key, owner key and the memo key.

Do you know each of this key functions and restrictions?

Each of the keys perform specific functions. The functions and restrictions of each of the keys are as follows:
~ The master key password:- I understand that the master key is very important and that I have to keep it somewhere safe and make sure no one else has access to it. Because it is the only key that can be use to retrieve or change all other keys if they get lost or forgotten.
~ The posting key: -Posting key is used for login for posting, commenting, resteem, editing, voting and devoting. It could also be used in performing other function like following and muting other account.
~ Active key:-Is used for monetary and wallet related actions, such as transferring tokens or powering STEEM up and down. It also used for converting Steem Dollars, voting for witness, updating profile details and avatar, and placing a market order.
~ Owner key:-It is used when necessary to recover any compromised account within 30 days.
~ Memo key:-It is used to encrypt and decrypt memos when transferring funds.

How do you plan to keep your master key password?

I have already aware of the implications of loosing my master password or keeping it where others can have access to it. It can lead to loosing my account and all the tokens in it. With that in mind, I have kept my master password very safe where no one else can access it and also where it can't get lost. And I will never share it with anyone or a third party.

Do you know how to transfer your steem token to another steem user account?

Yes. I know how to transfer steem token to another steem user account to a little extent. These are the steps: ~ I Will have to log out my steem account first as shown in the picture below:
~I click on my wallet as shown below:
~click on the menu icon on the upper right hand as shown below: ~ Drop-down menu will appear, then I clicked on sign in. Text box will appear where my user name and key would be entered as shown below. After which my wallet will be activated.
~ I will then click on the drop-down arrow beside steem. I will click on transfer as shown below:
~I will insert the user name of the beneficiary after being directed to the appropriate page as shown below:
~ I will then comfirm the transaction, that is it.

Do you know how to power up your steem?


Yes, I know how to power up my steem, below are the steps I took:
~In my wallet, I will click on the drop-down arrow beside steem and then click on power up as shown below:

~ I will then key in the amount that I to power up as shown in the picture below:

~the next step is for me to click on power up button as shown below:

~After that a page where I would key in my username and active key to confirm transfer would come up. Wow! Finally, I'm done with it.
Below are some of the screenshot of my last power up:

Conclusion


I am very grateful to the following wonderful people @cryptokannon,@kiwiscantly,@gracyakan ,@goodybest and @iddy for their guidance. Thank you.

The link to my achievement 1 post which I am referencing:https://steemit.com/hive-172186/@nobleekong/my-introduction-post-to-steemit-mentorship-by-cryptokannon
Cc
@ngoenyi
@bright-obias
@whitestallion

Sort:  

Question 1
Have you retrieve all your keys on steemit?

Question2
Do you know each of these key functions and restrictions?

Question 3
How do you plan to keep your master password?

Question 4
Do you know how to transfer your steem token to another steem user account?

Question 5
Do you know how to power up your steem
Screenshots are needed in question 4 and 5

Please answer the above questions step by step in this Achievement 2 post. Also include screenshots in questions 4 and 5.
YOU can quote the questions and give your answer below it.
Thank you!!!

 3 years ago 

Thank you Ma'am for the guideline, I have updated the post. Here is the link:https://steemit.com/hive-172186/@nobleekong/achievement-2-understanding-basic-security-on-steem-cryptokannon

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60385.82
ETH 2321.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51