ACHIEVEMENT 2 TASK : BASIC SECURITY ON STEEMIT BY @newtonb

in Newcomers' Community3 years ago (edited)

20211225_044057.jpg

Accept warm greetings from me to you. I was very happy when my Achievement 1 post got verified. I'm super grateful thank you all for your support.🙏. and I hereby present to you my achievement 2 post. I'll be doing so by responding to some task questions.

Question 1. HAVE YOU RETRIEVED ALL YOUR KEYS ON STEEMIT?

Yes I have retrieved all my keys on steemit. I downloaded the pdf containing these keys immediately I created my steemit account.i have saved it securely and jealously.

Question 2. DO YOU KNOW EACH OF THESE KEY FUNCTIONS AND RESTRICTIONS?

Yes I do know all the keys and their various functions. I was able to acquire this knowledge during my orientation in the WhatsApp orientation group7 organized by @b-naj along side his co-facilitators ; @shance-light and @wase1234
based on the knowledge I acquired and in my own words, below are the various keys and their functions.

  1. Private Posting Key: this key is used to log into apps like the steem.com platform and it performs tasks such as posting, commenting and voting.
  2. Private Memo key: this key is useful for decrypting private transfer memos.
  3. Private Active key: it is used for financial and all wallet related actions such as transferring tokens from one account to another and also for powering up and powering down steem.
  4. Private Owner key: this key is used to reset all other keys and is recommended to be kept offline. and in case your account is compromised you can use this key to retrieve it within 30days.
  5. Master Password: this key is never to be shared with anyone else. it is used to generate the document containing all the key.

Question 3. HOW DO YOU PLAN TO KEEP YOUR MASTER PASSWORD?

I think this is a very important question because I learned without the right keys for my steemit account, it will be difficult for me to access my account and so I have decided to print a hard copy and keep then also save a copy in my computer and most importantly save another copy in my Google drive this I will suggest everyone should do too.

Question 4. DO YOU KNOW HOW TO TRANSFER YOUR STEEM TOKEN TO ANOTHER STEEM USER ACCOUNT?

yes below i will be explaining exactly how to do so with the help of pictures from screenshots.

when on your account you will see on the menu wallet. click on wallet.

Screenshot_20211216-220034.png

it will take you to wallet then sign in now using your private posting keys to activate your wallet.
When you sign in, it takes you to your wallet which has now been activated. There you click on your steem amount where mine is 0.001 STEEM as of the time of writing this post and a drop down list will appear.

Screenshot_20211216-220223.png

Then click on the first option which is transfer. This takes you to a form you need to fill.
Screenshot_20211216-220253.png
Fill in the necessary information which includes your user name, the receivers user name, and then the amount of steem you want to send. After that click next.

Screenshot_20211216-220634.png
When you click next it brings you to the confirmation page for you to check the information. If everything is correct by you then you go ahead by clicking OK

Question 5. DO YOU KNOW HOW TO POWER UP YOUR STEEM?

Yes , this procedure a little similar to that of question 4(converting steem to Just like in Q4 above, activate your wallet then click on the steem amount ( mine is still 0.001 as of the time of writing) to reveal the drop down list.
This time we click on power up and as usual it brings us to the fill out form where we fill the necessary information and the amount you want to power up ( convert to steem power) and in my case I'm using all the 0.001steem I have. Then click on power up.

Screenshot_20211216-220253.png

Screenshot_20211216-224047.png
You are then taken to the page for confirmation as seen below and if all the information is correct continue by clicking Ok. From there you go to the last page where you fill out either your active key, owner key or master password and click in signing to complete the power up transaction. So the transactions aredone. Going back to your wallet you can see the reduction from your steem balance and addition to your steem power amount.
Then check your last transaction history then you see your transactions there.
Screenshot_20211216-225051.png

It's here and now that I will end this post. Thank you all always for your comments and support. I'll bee very happy to move to the next level when this post is verified
Until next time stay blessed you all.

Cc;

@saxopedia
@fombae

Sort:  
Loading...

Please you didn't answer the functions of the steemit keys

 3 years ago 

Waow okay thank you very much I will review that again

 3 years ago 

It has been edited sir 🙏

 3 years ago 

Wow good work there bro let's steem on

 3 years ago 

Nice présentation @newtonb and explanation, i think your question 2 needs a lil bit of editing coz it seems 98% similar to another post. Do well to fix it before it's late

 3 years ago 

Ok bro thanks for the observation I will do the corrections soon

 3 years ago 

It has been edited sir🙏

 3 years ago 

Thank you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60122.55
ETH 3199.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43