ACHIEVEMENT 2 @mykhell007 TASK: Basic security on steem

in Newcomers' Community3 years ago

Good evening everyone I'm here to make my achievement 2 post, I've been on this platform since February though and I'm done with my achievement 1 post so I'm moving forward to the next achievement level and with time I'll be fine with all the achievement levels.

A friend of mine @vhenom helped me in creating my account. And I remembered during the process of my account creation he told me about a file he download which contains different keys and he told me to keep it safe, he was even like I shouldn't keep it online that I could write the keys in a book and never lose that book and I did exactly what he said.

KEYS AND THEIR FUMCTIONS

There are various keys and they all have different uses.

  1. Master key:
  2. Posting key
  3. Active key
  4. Owner key
  5. Memo key

master key

Like the name " master" master key is the most powerful key that can be used to generate all other keys like active,owner,posting, and memo keys. it is the most important of all keys and must never be shared.

posting key

The main importance of the posting key is to log into steemit account .It is also used for activities such as posting, commenting editing and voting.

active key

This key is used for important things like transferring of funds, for powering up or powering down, conversion of steem dollar (sbd) to steem, I used this key when I converted my steem dollar to steem before powering up my steem to steem power.

owner key

This is a very important key It is used in resetting all other keys including the owner key itself, it is also used in recovering account without a specific period of time usually 30days. This key must be kept offline so people won't get access to it.

memo key

This key is used for encrypting and decrypting memos when transferring funds to other users.

NOTE: there are some keys that's perform the same function like the owner key, the active keys and the master key are also used for a same function like conversation of Steem dollar to steem And secondly the posting key can also be used to get other keys "but not master key" because, you log in to your steemit account with your posting key and the fact that you are online on steemit if you go to wallet click on keys and permissions you'll be able to access other keys also.

how to transfer steem form one account to another

Step 1
Go to wallet

Screenshot_20210504-194925.png

Click on the "Steem" the green one though

Screenshot_20210504-194935.png

You enter the account you want to transfer the Steem to and the amount of steem you and to transfer and you memo key also

how to power up steem

Step 1 go to wallet

Screenshot_20210504-195433.png

Click on "steem power" and you click on power up. I've actually powered up that why it's showing power down but if you haven't it will show you power up.

This is all I have for my achievement 2 post thank you for reading.

Cc @steemcurator01
Cc @steemcurator02
CC @steemcurator03

Sort:  
 3 years ago (edited)

Congratulations !

You have successfully completed achievment 2 task on "Basic Security on Steem". You can now proceed to Achivement 3 : Content Etiquette.

Curation Rate - 2


Follow @steemitblog for the latest updates and news on steemit platfrom and follow @steemingcurators for find more information about new contests and events.

 3 years ago 

You have been upvoted by @bright-obias, Steem Greeter from STEEM POD Project and we are voting with the Steemit Community Curator @steemcurator03 account to support the newcomers coming into steemit. Follow @steemitblog for the latest update on Steem Community. Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60274.16
ETH 2339.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55