Achievement 6 by @mosin-nagant : Understanding Curation and Community

in Newcomers' Community3 years ago


It's a relief to know that this is the final assignment of part 6 of the rookie achievement I'm currently working on. This is the sixth achievement under the title of understanding curation and community. I hope the verification team understands the content of this review so that it deserves to be labeled as a verified assignment. Instead of wasting a lot of time, here are the results of my work:

Do you understand how voting and curation work on steemit?


When an author uploads a post to Steemit, the upload automatically becomes the object of curation for the curators. This is pretty much the same situation that goes on on other social media platforms. The upload must be ready to get reactions from internet residents through features such as likes, dislikes, comments or even re-shares, like on Facebook.

On Steemit, this feature has other names, namely, Upvote, Downvote, Reply, and Reblog—now there is even a flagging feature or pinning certain flags to give certain labels to certain content.

In Steemit there are the terms autor, curator, and one more important thing is witness (about this witness, I will touch it in the next review in this upload). Authors are content creators, while curators are like audiences who have the right to curate the work.

If it is valued as an original work aka not the result of plagiarism and is interesting, then the content gets reward in the form of Upvotes (similar to Facebook's "like" feature, etc.). On the other hand, if it falls into a category that the curator deems inappropriate (this condition can actually be very subjective), he/she has the right to Downvote (dislike).

Unlike other social media, every Upvote brings a value that will later become a digital asset (STEEM). This prize is not only fully owned by the content creator but is allocated fairly between the author as the owner of the work, and the curator, as the person doing the curation.

From 100%, as much as 50% of the reward will go to the content creator/comment wallet. The rest goes to the curator's wallet. We can exchange this prize into a STEEM exchange tool called Steem Blockchain Dollar (SBD), or in the form of Steem Power (SP). SP is the curation power for other people's posts (authors). We can sell STEEM, with a conversion value, 1 SBD equals 10 USD, which we can later convert into rupiah.

The amount of Reward has provisions in accordance with the Steem Power (SP), from the giver of Upvote. The greater the percentage that the curator brings to their Upvote, the greater the value of the Upvote.

We can set the SP percentage for vote strength between 100 — 0%, with a note, you must already have 500 SP and above. For beginners whose SP value is still small, like me, the system only offers one choice, namely 100% power (mana/power/power) to vote or voting/SP.

For posts, setting 100% SP means receiving a pure SP reward without sharing to STEEM from your work, or being able to choose the default option so that there is a 50:50 split between SBD and SP.

From 100%, you will get a discount of 2% for every Upvote. activity. That means, those who do Upvote only have 10 chances. If it runs out, the network will recharge the power and give it for free as much as 20% in a day. In order to be filled 100% full, it means we have to fast.

The case that I encountered when I ran out of mana SP was that I couldn't do Upvote activities, and this also includes other activities, such as commenting, editing posts, and even changing profile information.

In the case of Downvote, the user has 25% of the normal mana pool. When doing Downvote, the network will consume the mana first before consuming the mana we have.


What happens if you select a post before 5 minutes after posting?


Logopit_1629466995479.png

As a curator, if I Upvote before the first 5 minutes since the author uploaded the content, then I get a reward less than 100%.

The following table shows the percentage of reward to curators according to time:

Upvote Time Reward Curator Back to Group
4 minutes+
0%
100%
1 minute+
20%
80%
2 minutes+
40%
60%
3 minutes+
60%
40%
4 minutes+
80%
20%
5 minutes+
100%
0%

The + sign indicates the time after the content is published


Who will you choose for Steem Witness? and why?


Logopit_1629467247027.png

Does the answer to that question have a big impact on my existence here? Can I be subjective? Alright, the first Witness (witness) to vote for is @puncakbukit.

There is no reason other than that Witness was the first to send out 0.25 SBD moments after I was first active on this platform, about 2 weeks ago to be exact.

Furthermore, as a thank you to the two Witness people who have made DApps useful on this platform, I chose to vote @steemchiller for developing SteemWorld and @justyy with SteemYY its.

However, because when writing this review I am still following the newcomer program, so I plan to choose all Witness after graduation. This includes thinking about and researching who the other 26 Witnesses I will vote for are.


Which community will you join on Steemit, and why?


Logopit_1629467898870.png

I am very happy with this question. After graduation—I hope so—I'll explore the communities I deem fit with my enthusiasm.

For now, I have joined several communities even though the status is not as a member alias only as a guest. Since I started my journey on Steemit, at least I have subscribed to more than 30 communities, of which I am listed as a member.

I will again explore a number of communities that match my interests and talents. Some keywords that make me interested in subscribing to a community such as, photography, literature (world, classic, contemporary), music, and travel journals.

Sort:  

Hi @mosin-nagant. It's good to see that you have completed your achievements to this level. You have successfully been verified. Now you can go ahead and compile all these achievements in one post.

rating: 2

 3 years ago 

Thank you very much, @ngoenyi, this good news makes me even more excited. Once again, thank you.

 3 years ago 

Hi, @mosin-nagant,

Your post has been supported by @rypo01 from the Steem Greeter Team.

 3 years ago 

@steemcurator03, convey my gratitude to @rypo01

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 58254.01
ETH 2971.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89